Month: August 2013

  • And the Transition Begins

    I'm finally able to take a breather from a very busy week to catch up on some blogging.

    Ok, let's do a quick run down:

    Continue reading

  • A Movie Trailer Voice Over

     

    August is my birthday month.   So, the Better Half gave me what I've been wanting for the past few years - a high quality USB microphone.

    I've always liked being in a sound booth from my days learning radio and getting my FCC license.   But it's been well over a decade since I've stepped into a radio station sound booth and did some production work.

    These past few years I've had the opportunity to hone some skills at my regular job, and have received a lot of practical advice.  I still have a long way to go, but I hope this quick recording finds everyone in movie mode.

    Two things have hindered me doing voice over work:

    1 - finding good scripts

    2 - good equipment

    Well, these past couple of years I've been searching online trying to find scripts and to practice them.
    With this USB microphone, I can now enhance my ability to practice - not only with the vocal, but also with the audio production.

    One observation I receive is that people tell me I should do movie trailers.

    I'd LOVE to do them - but I have to be honest here... no one can beat the Movie Guy himself, Don LaFontaine.  

    But, knowing there are requests out there - here's my audio tract of a voice over for a movie... any movie:

     

     

    Well... back to doing more practice.

    What movie have you seen recently?

    Until later.

  • Transitional Update - Early Bird Registration

    The fundraising campaign is over, but @john mentioned that due to the extension towards the end of the month with the hosting facility - there would be an opportunity for people to still be a part of Xanga 2.0.

    If you go to the Crowdhoster page - Early Bird Registration is available until the end of the month - https://xanga.crowdhoster.com/relaunch-xanga

    Continue reading

  • Putting a Team Together: Highlighting Buckholtz

     

    Since I'm working on a concert series - I'd like to introduce some of the people I'm working with to make it happen - and some of their body of work.

    Continue reading

  • Putting a Team Together: Highlighting Moretti

    Since I'm working on a concert series - I'd like to introduce some of the people I'm working with to make it happen - and some of their body of work.

    Continue reading

  • A Transitional Post - My Thoughts

     

    We are in a state of Transition here on Xanga.

    Many are wondering when we will launch the upgrade, what is happening, etc...

     

    Well, here are my thoughts on the situation at hand:

      Continue reading

  • A Need for Writers and Video Editors

     

    As I shared during the Xanga Fundraising Campaign - we've been developing a concert series.

    I've been working with several non-profit organizations, Youtube artists, and web designers to get the site and the concert series moving forward.

     

    One aspect of this series deals with promoting the concert and Autisable.

    We've been given an opportunity for Autisable - and we are in need for writers and video editors.

     

    We're developing some commercial spots - and also a 'behind the scenes' series.

    I know there are talented writers and video editors - so I'm asking that if anyone is interested to please touch base.

     

    We will soon be asking for pictures and video and music, etc... that can be used to develop the Show on the Autism Channel - and also be used by us for promotional purposes.

    In the process -we will also be sharing some of these videos on Youtube as well as through media streaming devices.

     

    We'd like to make this a position that a talented person can fulfill.  

    I'd love to pay someone to help - but we need willing and talented individuals to help (because they want to).

    As the site grows - so the ability to pay will become more available.

     

    If you're interested, please leave a comment - or send me a message - and if you have some examples of your work available to view - that will greatly help.

     

     

  • A Transition Period - What Can We Do During This Time?

    We are in a state of transition on Xanga.

    Many people have asked me when we are finally moving to 2.0.  My answer is "I don't know the timeline".

    However, the fundraiser is done - and I know that @thexangateam has already migrated a lot of data over to the new system.

    I do know that many of us are waiting on e-mails from The Xanga Team pertaining to our contribution - and what accounts we want our contributions applied to.

     

    Based on the information we've already been given - this is what I would expect at the moment - that we would be transitioned to 2.0 by the end of August.

    Until then, this current platform will remain up and running until further notice.

     

    Why the end of August?  

    Continue reading

  • Offsetting the Cost of Blogging

     

    Let's talk money, shall we?

    Many have expressed concern or worry about Xanga changing the business model to a pay to blog model.   I understand that concern as well, as I prefer  the low cost to no cost route when addressing my online activities.   

    I want to share that we have a primary rule in our home regarding what I do online.  Nothing I do online can be paid for out of pocket, it has to be paid for by what I earn online.   Continue reading

  • Day 63 - The Campaign is Completed

     

    Big kudos to @myxldove for putting the above pic together at such short notice yesterday.  It's on the Xanga Facebook page.

     

    The reality is that it was you who believed and contributed to the fundraiser who made this happen.   As my previous post will share, there is still much more work to do.

    Many thought it couldn't be done  - but the community made it happen! 

     

    But now it's time to close out this campaign - and wrap up the stats part:

      Continue reading