Month: February 2014

  • No Matter What - Keep Moving Forward

    I posted on facebook that 'Cancer Sucks' - and the response I received was overwhelming to me.  From comments to private messages from people concerned about me, to sharing that they are going through cancer related issues either with themselves or with someone that they know personally.

    To set aside a couple of things - I don't have cancer.    I posted that update after I received a call from my Mom who has been battling brain cancer for over a year - and getting an update from another family member who is dealing with the disease as well.

    Mortality for those with Grade 4 Glioblastoma is very high.   My Mom is one of the strongest women I know, and seeing this happen and her response to it all does nothing but grow my admiration for her.   She has been the glue that keeps much of the family together over the years.   So our whole family is in support and in prayer.

    With family getting older, a few having Cancer, and my son having Autism - along with the financial obligations one has to keep a house together - one would get the impression that I'm over it. But that is never the case.   I do get weary from time to time, and maybe get a bit of anxiety - but hey, we're all human.  Things like that should be expected.

    I've heard sob stories where people have gone through a lot worse then me or my family.   I remember the phrase where a man complained about his shoes until he saw a man with no feet.  That phrase rings ever so true when I'm having to hear bad news or am going through some very bad things.

    Just the other day I saw a man who lost both of his legs due to a car accident.  He's still moving forward.  He reminds me of those in the military who sacrifice their life for others.

    These things may hinder or slow down one's life... and some folks may want to stop what they are doing and just hid in the corner.

    But - No matter what, you must keep moving forward.

    A preacher once shared that if you feel as though you are going through hell... don't stop.

    I have to press on.   To me there are too many families that need help - that need encouragement - that need to have their voice heard.

    My family is just one - but there are millions in just the United States alone that need to have their journey with Autism shared.

    I believe that opportunities are available.   I am applying to jobs and submitting my resume.   I'm networking with as many people possible.   There is work out there, and it will just be a matter of time before the right fit happens.

    In the meantime I'm helping folks as I am able, doing housework as I am able - keeping forward mobility in my life in motion.

    Be encouraged.

    For what resides within is greater than any problem that may come around.

    No Matter What - Keep Moving Forward.

  • The Closing of the Brain Fried Network Website

    I've been blogging under the pseudonym of edlives for over a decade.   In that time I've been blessed to meet many people online and worked hard at helping people and businesses in promoting their efforts.

    Several years ago, prior to even Autisable launching, I created the website called Brain Fried Network.

    The site will be shut down, but the fan page associated with the site won't be shut down and will continue.

    The site and several things associated with it is costing me over $20 per month.   There hasn't been any profits from the endeavor as I did it for the love of doing it.

    Being unemployed has caused me to cut back on several things - and this being one of them.

    The fan page on facebook will be my personal fan page - where all my blog posts connect, and where I will share whatever I can.

    IF you are on facebook - feel free to like the page:  https://www.facebook.com/brainfriednetwork

    Not only is this decision an effort to trim my expenses, it is also a decision that helps me refocus my attention on Autisable.

    I will still be helping out the Xanga community - but it will be without Brain Fried Network the website.

    until later.

  • My Baby Girl

    tonezalliciawhittbabygirl

     

    A few weeks ago I met Actor/Artist  T.O.N.E-z.  He's that guy who created the theme song for the tv show Justified.

    Since our first meeting I've had several phone calls with him, where we discussed much of his music - and social media.

    Beyond that we talked about life experiences, and how many artists try to deal with their issues via song.

    We found out that we had something in common.  We both experienced a miscarriage from an expectant fathers point of view.

    It's not something I've ever talked about before - but since the movie "Labor Day" was released this past year, I think that the stigma of someone having a miscarriage should at least be addressed.

    Now I know some folks don't want to talk about this topic - and I have to say that is ok by me.  However, there are people who may find it helpful to address this loss appropriately - and they need help.

    T.O.N.E-z shared his experience with fellow Justified Actress/Singer  Alicia Witt though the song "Baby Girl".

    Like much of his music, it hits the topic head on - from his perspective.  It's raw and full of emotion.

    Please take a moment to listen to it - and if you like it - buy it from iTunes:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/my-baby-girl-feat.-alicia/id814496952

    Here's another snippet:

    http://www.reverbnation.com/tonez/song/19961525-my-baby-girl-snippet-tone-z-ftalicia

  • Dealing with Anxiety

    It's been a little over a month since the job hunt began.  From that day I've been working on paperwork, housework, and making sure that our finances and other issues are being taken care of appropriately.

    I'm sitting in a Diner at the moment, listening to customers discuss everything from food to kids to their job.   Seems that no matter where I go, the same topics of discussion keep happening.

    But today is a bit challenging, as I'm dealing a little with anxiety.  It's the issue where the mind wanders at 100 miles an hour thinking on what will happen - what should have happened - and how I should do what I need to do... whatever that is.

    I met an interesting couple across from my table.  They were stopping in to grab a bite to eat.  He had years of service but was just dealing with his back.   Nice couple and I hope his back heals.

    I find that in order for me to deal with anxiety, it's a good thing for me to network and talk with people - especially those who are going through a few things.  It puts things into perspective on not only how blessed these people I meet are - but also how blessed I am as well.

    More job applications and resume's are being submitted, and everything is moving forward.

    Just one of those days where anxiety reared it's head and had to be reminded to chill out.

    until later, back to the grind.

  • The Power of Saying 'No'

    For many years I was one to take on a project because I could see it's potential.   Then, I realized the importance of saying 'no' to doing things.

    Sometimes saying 'no' doesn't mean that a project has no significance, but rather it's about being able to provide quality time and effort to provide a service that gives that project the respect it deserves.

    I have been approached to help out on social media promotional campaigns, marketing consulting, logistics consulting, and other projects by which I've been known to have some success.   I am happy to listen to what people want to promote or organize a bit better, but I'm reluctant now as to what projects I will spend my time and effort.

    My reluctency has nothing to do with anyone's ideas lacking pizzazz or passion - to the contrary, the folks pitching me their ideas have plenty of heart and passion.   The nature of my response is due to time management.

    This reminds me of how many times I'm talking with people who are experts in their field, and how they would have to say no to a project because they just don't have the time to attack the project in a way that will show forth their best effort.

    Would you accept a job and only provide half a measure of work?   I know I wouldn't.

    But the power of saying 'no' not only protects a reputation of someone's time and work ethic - it also helps to refine a person's focus.

    When we say, "yes" to helping others - it should be because we can truly help that person or project with all of our talents and abilities.   We should remind ourselves, therefore, that providing a 'yes' to someone needing our help would mean that we can help them fully - without reservation - but with set limitations to provide a realistic expectation.

    In short, our yes should be yes - and our no should be no.  And whatever our response is, it should be clearly understood by all involved as to what level that we can be of service.

    An answer of 'No' is therefore a sign of someone's limitations, and should be respected.   At the same time, however, it also is a sign of opportunity to seek out what other options remain available - as most likely those options were not yet explored.

    It's only the beginning.

  • A Different Perspective

    I'm sitting inside a Barnes and Noble bookstore at the moment, enjoying an overpriced cup of coffee at the in-store Starbucks.

    To say I needed to get out of the house for a little bit is an understatement.

    For the past couple of weeks I've been in the house, plugging away at several different projects.   With Short Stack being home due to Snow Days, and me being in the house for so long - the effects of cabin fever started to take its toll.

    So, I had to escape for a bit - to obtain a different perspective.

    After a couple of weeks with the same four walls around me, it seemed as though they were closing in on me.

    It's nice to get a breath of fresh air, and a different scene around me.

    The Barnes and Noble where I'm at is located as part of a major mall.  Friends and couples sit around me discussing their shopping and relationships.  It seems that people share similar things no matter what venue I'm at.

    The ordering of coffee at a starbucks is akin to speaking code.   I usually get the venti white chocolate mocha.  If I wanted something simple I would've just stayed at home with my co-worker "Mr. Keureg" blowing steam at me.

    As I sit her I'm pouring over the various facebook status updates and comments.   This past week people have been debating the Coca-Cola Superbowl commercial.   The sadly comical perspective I read upon is that people believe that they are singing the National Anthem.  I ponder as to why our society is in decay when something as simple as our National Anthem brought into a discussion where it isn't even applied.   As my Better Half has shared with me... "it's just a commercial" ... to which I agree.

    Social media has broken down the social barriers in both good and bad ways.  It has become a two edged sword.

    Considering the concept the we are able to share our opinions, the question becomes - is it really necessary to share every opinion?
    The other issue is the aspect if what we are sharing will encourage people - or tear them down.

    The hope is that as a society we learn to be constructive in our criticism.  However, that isn't always the case.

    My hope is that we can see the little nuggets of truth in our differences of opinion.... by respecting those different perspectives.

    Who knew that sitting in a coffee store that sits inside a bookstore would be a nice change of pace?  This different perspective helped me write this blog post.

    Who or what has caused you to see from a different perspective?

     

  • It's about the 'Why'

    Why do you do what you do?

    What is it that inspires you to continue on when the chips are down?

    For some, it's easy, it could be about the money - the accolades.  For others, it's much deeper - and a matter of the heart.

    Many folks that I'm in touch with express that if you've found your passion - you've found your 'why'.
    It's that one thing that no matter what ill may come, you will still strive to reach the goal.

    When someone has that passion, that desire, that fortitude to keep doing what they want to do - the reality is that they will be rewarded as a by product of what drives them.

    The key is to promote their vision, their desire, their passion.... their ... 'why'.

    I believe that I've found my 'why'.  My vision, my desire.

    There are millions of families who are going through the same thing our family is.   They need to know that there is a community of people willing to help.  They need to know that there is hope.

    I've realized through my own son that it doesn't take much to express joy.   His smile and laughter is contagious, and his heart is enough to encompass the globe.   I am merely a temporary tool by which his voice, and that of many others, can express themselves.

    I've been blessed with many opportunities to encourage others to share their journey with Autism.   I'm no greater than any other family, just in a position to help where I can.

    For me it's about the families who see no hope, to give them hope.   About those who are on the spectrum who have no voice - to provide an avenue for them to share their thoughts and ideas.

    It's about the 'why'.

    It's about not giving up in that vision, in that dream.

    Far too often we want to give up on our dreams, to see those passions we have become reality.   I can only encourage people to do all they can to pursue their 'why' - and not to give up.

    Do all you can, and be a blessing to others.

  • Keeping Hope

    It's tough to remain positive when life throws those curve balls.

    Sometimes you swing and hit life's issues out of the park, other times you strike out.

    Forgive the baseball metaphor, but the attempt is to share that no matter what life throws at you - the point is to keep swinging.

    I have to remember that others have it far worse than I do.   We have a roof over our head, food on the table, and clothes on our back.

    Finding the positive is easy to do - it's all about recognizing what you do have - rather than what you missed out on or don't have.  So many people focus on things that they don't have, rather than enjoy those things that are right in front of them.

    A few weeks ago I was in a discussion with someone regarding how hard they have it.  This person was going through his own personal crisis.   Now, I won't go into detail  - but the bottom line was that from his perspective - he was having a very tough time.

    Then, he asked me how he could make it through those issues he was going through.  Then I remembered that life is a lot about perspective.

    Remembering a phrase I read somewhere that "a man complained about his shoes until he saw a man with no feet."

    I asked him about what he does have - and after much talk back and forth he shared that he has his car, his apartment, a job... good friends and a family that lives nearby.  But he still felt lacking.

    I shared with him that he has so much to be thankful and hopeful for, because he has already been blessed with so much.

    Hope is not full of lack, it's about having faith that something good will happen - focusing on the positive - and finding creative moments to make things happen.

    Some days I feel like my friend, lacking in what I don't have - and even I need to have someone  to remind me of what I do have.
    I think we've all been there - and that's just part of life.

    If you are having a tough time with something, just remember that your journey can provide hope and inspiration to someone else who has it worse than you do.

    Keep hope alive, and keep swinging at life's issues - and live for those moments when you hit it out of the park.