Month: May 2014

  • Thank You

    This is a quick message to express my thanks and appreciation for all the comments, messages and phone calls regarding my Mom's passing.

    It's been an encouragement as plans are being made to celebrate my Mom's life.

    As you may expect, my involvement online will be cut back over the course of the next week or so.

    Thank you again.

    Until later, Be Blessed.

  • An Open Letter to My Mom

    I hope today you take a few moments to think about and honor your Mom.

    I'm sure many people have had the opportunity to share the best and worst moments with their mom.

    These are just a few moments that I remember that I think are ok to share with you.

    -------------------------
    Dear Mom,

    I remember so much of my youth that included you.  From my first walk to my first words.   You smiled and laughed when I stumbled through life and looked up at you with that reassurance that everything was going to be alright.

    I remember my first love, and my first heartbreak, and you being there for me and letting me know that I was still young but this was a part of life.

    I remember learning how to cook, do dishes, clean house and laundry - letting me know that these are skills that anyone should know to be independent.

    I remember seeing you cry when you were hurt, hugging me even closer when times were tough.

    I remember arguing with you as I was learning to live my life on my own, as you tried to hold on tighter - not wanting to let me go.

    I remember your embrace whenever we saw each other, knowing how much you missed me.

    I remember how you shared with me your faith, keeping it simple with words - but speaking volume with actions.

    I remember you sharing with me that no one is perfect, that everyone has challenges in their life - and we have to do our best with what we have.

    I remember you kept the family together during the toughest of times.

    I remember how you always thought things through, encouraging me to do the same.

    From the time I came into this world, you've been there for me - loved me - cared for me even when I felt was unworthy.  You made me feel that I was of value.

    I remember the day I realized that your worry and concern will never end.   It's how you loved me, how you tried to raise and protect me.

    I remember the phone call where you shared with me your illness and your concerns.

    I remember you fighting the good fight, planning for the next step, and making sure you shared what's on your heart.

    I will remember that today was my last Mother's Day to tell you that I love you, Mom.

    I will always remember you - and in my heart you will always be here.

    Sincerely,

    Your Son

    --------------------------

    Today at 10:30am, My Mom passed away.

    Giving her all, even until her last breath.

    Until later, Mom.