June 5, 2014

  • Focusing on the Positive

    Ok, I've been a bit off the grid for a little while, so let's recap the past few months, shall we?

    Besides the fact that Autisable is down and is in the process of being upgraded... and just dealing with the downside of Autism every now and then...

    I lost my job in January, and lost my Mom on Mother's Day.

    But, one thing I've learned over the years is to focus on the positive.   In spite of her brain cancer, my Mom was always positive about her own circumstances.  She loved the month of May - after all, not only was it her birth month - it also had mothers day.

    My Mom was also a serious planner... always planning things out, even her own funeral.   I'm sure that as Mother's Day came around she hung on with all she could to make the day even more memorable and special.   It was, after all, her style.

    I'm not concerned about the loss of my job as well.   After working with some great people for over 12 years, it was time for me to move on. I have no regrets and learned a lot from some great people, many of whom I still touch base with even today.

    Now I could focus on the downside of not being employed at a regular job right now, but for those who know me... that's just not my style.

    Life will always throw curveballs.  Change is about the only thing that remains a constant in life.

    Granted several of these life events I never 'planned for'... but such is the thing called life.  Life is a Journey filled with unexpected moments.  How we respond to those moments can help define our character.

    My Mom had over a year and a half to address the issue of the end of her life.   She chose to travel and see friends and family that lived around the United States and in other countries.   She chose to live life to her fullest while she still could... and she did.

    My Mom enjoyed her job as well, but that didn't define who she was.

    Why should having a job at a company define who someone is?  The reality is it doesn't.

    People will ask what I did, and I would say I was a Logistics Analyst.   Did that define who I am?  of course it didn't.   No job description defines who a person is and what they stand for - as the job description only sets out a list of responsibilities to accomplish for a person working at a company.

    But the listing of responsibilities does provide guidance and structure - which we all need.  Having a regular job and a list of responsibilities to accomplish each day makes things easier... especially when that list is provided by an employer.  However, without an employer - I have to redefine what my job is now.

    My Job description now is a temporary one - as it will only last until I'm employed again.

    I've been busy fulfilling many responsibilities on the honey-do list (my job requirements as provided by My Better Half).   Due to my previous place of employment I couldn't accomplish many of the items on the Honey do list... and now I am. :)

    I've been able to spend more time with my Son, Short Stack... which is priceless.

    I've been practicing my Voice Over techniques, and learning more from various artists and professionals.  Something I couldn't have done while fully employed.

    There's plenty I am now able to do and accomplish at the moment, and when the timing is right - and the job opportunity is there... I will take the necessary steps.

    For now... I remain focused on the positive.

    Thank you for your support.

    Until later...

    Blessings.

     

Comments (13)

  • Sorry to hear about your mum,

    Good luck with finding employment. I am still trying to find employment, recently been on a course to help improved my CV/cover letter/spec letter and the most important mock interview.

    I still attend a job club, this place helps people who have got a disability/barriers to finding work,

  • Yes, always remain focused on the positive! :-)
    You and your family continue to be in my thoughts and prayers.
    (((HUGS)))

  • sometimes things just fall apart and we need to be flexible.
    Hope all works out for you.

  • Still wishing you luck in finding employment, Hoping you can get the Honey do list completed, and your autisable website up and running.

  • When my husband was out of work he spent everyday with our sons. They really bonded! It was the best thing that could have happened at the time. Looking back he has no regrets. Hope your "time off" yields benefits unimagined!

  • While i love your thinking and attitude, I am sorry you are unemployed. Along with others, you will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    I liked you thinking about a job not defining us I made that mistake, but now I am retired. lol I also have a Honey Do list---every day.

    blessings

    frank

  • Good post, I like that you're thinking this way about it all.

  • Joel -- this is a good, positive post in the face of adversity! My best to you ~ ~ ~

    Much as I hate to bring it up, I'm wondering if you've heard anything that you can share regarding the future of Xanga after September. Many are voicing concerns that the year is just about up, and indicating that they are not likely to renew -- is there any encouragement you can provide on this front?

    • Thanks!

      As far as an update from Xanga Team, nothing yet. But I'm sure the team will provide something that will set people's minds at ease for at least the short term.

  • Holy rough seas, shipmate! And I thought my decks were a rockin'. Great advice and more importantly, superior attitude. Stand fast and know you will ride it out...

    Sail on... sail on!!!

    • Sailing on, my friend. I know the seas will calm down eventually. It's moments like these I realize that when the calm does come - I can enjoy it more. :)

  • Joel, I like both your mom's attitude to life and your's too. It is a source of inspiration and motivation for me.

    • I give credit to my mom on that one. As concerned as she always was - she always found a way to help people.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment