September 14, 2014

  • An Update about Xanga - and - a Temporary Landing Page for Autisable

    finally

    The month of August was incredibly busy for me, personally.   After all, Short Stack was on vacation from school - and so my attention was required more than the usual.

    Which, to be completely honest, I didn't mind - at all. :)

    The reality is that I used the opportunity to spend more time with my family, as I should.  Gotta keep priorities in check, right?

    Along with keeping other aspects of recent events, like job hunting and so forth, my focus was to keep things moving forward... so there was a limited amount of time to devote to Xanga and/or Autisable's main website.

    That is... until last week... when I finally had the chance to talk with John at Xanga.

    Yes, John, the one for whom we are all waiting to hear from.

    But please, don't judge the man to harshly - or for that matter, this blog post... as I'm shaking the summer rust off of my blogging and getting back into the swing of things.

    But I digress....

    John and I had a very good conversation regarding Xanga and also Autisable.

    I was able to share with him directly the concerns of the community, and that it being a year since 2.0 launched - many are rather frustrated at not hearing anything.

    For those that didn't know, much of my contact with Xanga has been with Marc and/or Eugenia.   So to talk with John directly is not something that has happened that often.

    With this past week, however, that level of communication has changed - dramatically - and for the better.

    I appreciate John giving me an update on what has been happening, and letting me know that they are still moving forward with Xanga 2.0.

    I'll let John share the updates about Xanga, and what's been going on with the site.   I would do John (and you) a disservice by sharing all of what he shared with me.  Besides, I'm sure you'd rather hear it straight from him anyways.

    That being said... I emphasized that we need better communication.   Which he agreed.

    He took a lot of what we discussed to heart, and is giving a lot of thought on how to deal with it.
    I would expect him to have an update for everyone very soon, if not, at least I have a way to contact him directly to bug him more. :)

    We also discussed a minimal need for Autisable.com's URL to have a landing page.  Something temporary that could provide an update that:
    A) show's that we are still here
    and
    B) that people can still reach us on our social media outlets.

    So - today he launched the page:   http://www.autisable.com

    The site is still being worked on... but at least with the URL active again, we at least can let folks know where to connect with us during this time.

    During this past month I took down many notes for several blog posts, so expect some more blogging from me as well.

    It's been an interesting year - and we still have a few months left of it. :)

    Until later... back to the grind.

     

     

     

     

Comments (35)

  • Thanks for the update and it is nice to see how you used your time.

    I plan on paying the registration payment again when it is due in October. I wish John the best.

    Wishing you the best.

    frank

  • Nice to see some progress. Woot!!

  • Joel -- as we approach a full year of Xanga 2.0, it's been difficult to know whether to re-up for a second year. This post helps -- to know that there really is a John, and that you really have spoken with him. I think it will be critical to the future of Xanga 2.0 that John post something so that we can all see that there will be more than the skeleton we have worked with this year. My subscriber base seems to have dwindled from a couple of hundred people to about 10, primarily because others have wandered off and are doing their blogging elsewhere. I hope that can change, and will anxiously wait to hear what John has to say!

    In the meantime, it's good to hear that you are now blogging again, and that your autisable site is making progress.

    Thank you for this post!

    • I know and understand. In talking with John there is much that was discussed. Wish I could go into detail, but that's one thing that we agreed that he needed to do.

      So, I expect him to provide us an update, and if one doesn't come soon - I will be able to reach him directly.

  • Good work! Keep that communication up!

  • I was starting to think that John was not real... I will be waiting with great anticipation some (any) communication from him with an update on xanga 2.0 My subscription runs out in October and I'm debating on whether to renew or blog elsewhere.

    • LOL, you're not the first to think that.

      I've spoken to John before, and have seen him on XangaTV when that was module was active on Xanga 1.0. The choice to blog on Xanga 2.0 or elsewhere is entirely yours.
      I'm keeping this blog as long as possible, personally. But, like most folks who blog regularly, and earn a little money in the process, I blog on other sites as well.

      Hope you stay, though. :)

  • I had posted a comment on this post of yours on fb. A few months back I had called John's office in New York and had left a long message for him. Eventually Eugenia had replied. But I have since sent several communications to her and there has been no response. This one way traffic bothers me. I am glad that you have made contact with John. A lot of people are wondering what happens come October. If many readers leave, it will by sad fate, I have my account open till 2018???

    • I saw the comment, thanks!

      Eugenia is still with Xanga, but is working more virtually and moved with her husband and kids from NYC to Chicago. She is currently catching up on the help @ xanga.net e-mails. I send her a few each week from messages from Xanga's facebook page.

      Feel free to resend an e-mail if you think it's still needed.

  • Oh thank you! so much for giving us some/any! info ~ sometimes it just made one wonder if the whole thing was running all by itself or were there actually some people back behind there somewhere?!! Will be anxiously awaiting any news at all ~ thanks again ~

  • You're doing a greater disservice by not telling us what he said. John has had many opportunities to talk to us, and yet, it has been over a YEAR of silence. And did he give you a specific date on when he will address us? Or did you just take his word for it?

    • This is where you and I will disagree. I gave my word that I wouldn't share what we discussed because I told him I wouldn't.

      Too many people have also asked and shared with me, including yourself, that it doesn't matter anymore what I say - they want to hear it from John himself.

      So - it's about me honoring my word - and also respecting many people's opinions that they'd rather hear from John - and not me - on this matter.

      I expressed to him that an update from him is far more preferred, to which he agreed.

      Our communication issue has been resolved, and so I have a means to reach out to him directly to improve over all communications.

      Until he communicates what is going on with Xanga, I shall remain quiet on the matter - but will be touching base with him directly to get a public update about Xanga - posted on the Xanga team blog.

      This is John's responsibility - not mine - as so many people this past year have pointed out.

      When he provides an update, then I will be more vocal in the areas to which I can be more vocal.

      I completely agree that this year of silence is not satisfactory, and I'm doing what I can to address it.

      Much of what is being done is through personal conversations - and I'm sharing what I can in these posts.

      All I can do is encourage communication and forward motion.

      We all have been more than patient with what has been happening with Xanga. If anyone should be frustrated about this situation, it should be me.
      You don't have artists and non-profits and businesses waiting at your door, wanting to work with you - however, you have nothing on hand because of a decision being made hundreds of miles away to shut down a platform and needing to relaunch.
      You don't have hundreds of bloggers with their own sites, waiting for updates about a site that has benefited tens of thousands of people each month on the discussion of Autism.

      You don't have people who have been a part of this website criticizing every aspect of what you are doing and how you are doing every single moment.

      Again, I put myself in this position - and so therefore my focus is to keep things moving forward.

      Criticize all you want - but my focus is to help improve the situation. Be constructive, take action.

      My frustration, however, is my own - as I put myself in this position. I do so because of a greater purpose, and therefore I will not compromise when I give my word.

      I have failed in as much as I have succeeded, if not - more so.

      But, I keep getting back up - and keep moving forward.

      In regards to Xanga, it's up to John now. I will still be in touch with him to communicate what I can from the community - but it's up to him to get things done - and to share what is going on.

  • Interesting, since I read in my subs list a few weeks back a post from someone, who said that he had supposedly left Xanga for a brand new job elsewhere. Of course, that could have been speculation, but it sure looks and feels like it's truth.

    Not slamming you, because you've been strung along with the rest of us, it was said a year ago that there would be updates and info from John and 'the team'...which is info you passed along for/from them...then you were left holding the bag when no updates appeared. So yeah, if anyone has a reason to be frustrated, it's you.

    However, after more than ample patience/understanding from us all, for all the busy times and hard things they had to code (ha) and ALL those other terribly difficult jobs that kept John from spending ten minutes on a post to just say, "Hey, we're here and still care..." it's way past the time when John should say something, if only to snicker at how he managed to make us all hope and believe that things might ever be better here.

    Call me skeptical...but he did exactly what I said he'd do. So I'm not terribly excited to think he's going to do anything more now. He got his cash, that's all that mattered. It's now time for more cash...so...more promises. I'll have to see different actions to believe anything else. That's not your fault, that's John's fault.

  • The Xanga 2.0 Community over the last several months has truly come alive - with SPAMMERS! Every day they fill the comments section of my old blogs with messages about deeply discounted Coach bags, ads for Michael Kors watches, and links to various phishing websites.

    I think one thing that's forgotten here is that Xanga took our money. While the donation I made that yielded my one year subscription was nominal to me, $48 is a lot of money to a lot of Xangans, many of whom are students who are only able to work part time. I don't want to speak for them but I'm guessing that they were expecting more than a bare bones version of the blogging platform available for free (and with many more features) at wordpress.com. I'm also guessing that those who paid for multi-year subscriptions or who spent hundreds of dollars to purchase multiple subscriptions to donate to financially disadvantaged Xangans feel pretty foolish.

    I won't be renewing my subscription and I hope the rest of the remaining Xanga community isn't naive enough to pay for another year of nothing. It's been a year people! Xanga is dead! Accept it and move on!

  • Thought maybe Xanga had been put on autopilot and left to drift out to sea.

    If "John" happens to make an update, on this new platform, will I even see it? I don't think I've seen an update or any post of his on this site since they moved us to it. Is there a page/friend/postname that I have to be subscribed to in order to get news??

    Appreciate all the efforts that YOU have made to keep us up to date!!
    Congratulations on the Autisable site opening!

    Rhonda

  • "John and I had a very good conversation regarding Xanga and also Autisable.

    I was able to share with him directly the concerns of the community, and that it being a year since 2.0 launched – many are rather frustrated at not hearing anything."

    That concern should not need to be shared- as it's a given he as individual and lead of Xanga has abused the community's trust and must know that. It's been a year with no updates.

    "That being said… I emphasized that we need better communication. Which he agreed."

    How could he not agree? It's been a year with no updates! I believe you relayed this EXACT communication problem to him over a year ago, and he also agreed then as well. The year of no response is the REAL answer to Xanga's regard/respect of the community.

    Regarding your reply to Coolmonkey:

    "Until he communicates what is going on with Xanga, I shall remain quiet on the matter – but will be touching base with him directly to get a public update about Xanga – posted on the Xanga team blog.

    This is John’s responsibility – not mine – as so many people this past year have pointed out."

    I agree with you remaining quiet until John makes an update, but I completely disagree with your stance that this is solely John's responsibility.

    You put yourself out there as the "Unoffical but Defacto Xanga Spokesperson" and played a big role in highlighting and driving the campaign to get enough pledges to fund "2.0".

    As such, you own a level of responsibility for this current situation as your actions induced people to pledge up to become paid subscribers.

    Not only that, but you continue to play the role as the middleman between the community (what's left of it) and Xanga.

    Coolmonkey is right in that is is a disservice to the community to make an announcement of you speaking to John rather getting John to commit to a date on breaking the silence that has lasted over a year.

    You of all people should be incensed at what has happened this year and the situation Xanga allowed you to be in. They left you to take the heat as a shill. For the sake of your own honor and reputation I'm surprised you didn't try harder to get John to commit to a date to make his announcement. He has shown unequivocally that the Xanga community doesn't merit the respect of any updates, let alone timely ones.

    We're at a point now where the paid users are nearing their subscription end and have to make a choice to pay up again for a service far inferior to its free WP alternative. It would be a good start for John to freeze the clock on subs to allow those who paid to blog on 2.0 to be able to continue to do so without a renewal fee. It's the least they can do considering the lack of a front page and ability to contact users on followers lock has destroyed any hope of saving what used to be such a vibrant community of "1.0".

    • It's easy to sit and be critical of others actions.

      My stance on this issue remains.

  • Thanks for the update and for being the unofficial spokesperson. I don't know whether to renew or not. I don't blog as much anymore. And when I do, I get more traffic on my WP blog.

  • Yes, I agree it's not physically difficult calling out faults. But that doesn't make it easy in the sense of having to call out the highly unsatisfactory performance of people who are likely nice folks in other aspects of their lives. Have you ever had to fire someone for poor job performance? Do you think that's easy? Let me assure you, it's not.

    Know what else could be called very easy? Not calling out faults at all and just ignoring them with little to no action taken to correct problems.

    Several people like ZSA_MD have expressed dissatisfaction with Xanga's current bare bones environment and lack of communication. I suppose by your logic, they can all be grouped together as criticizing malcontents?

    I would have liked to reply to your response the RIGHT way instead of having to create a new thread, but there is no "comment reply" feature except for the blog owner- a basic feature among many that are lacking in "2.0".

    Xanga gave up its "criticism immunity" card when they started charging for their services. People have every right to complain when what was promised is not delivered with no attempt at all explaining the reason for the shortcomings.

    It's been over a year with no updates, and you really think I'm out of line calling that out?

    I'm just stating the obvious- we were told "2.0" would be community centric like Xanga 1.0, and so far that has proven to be blatantly false.

    You've brought up the fact that it's "up to the users" to make this a community, but the "users" don't write the software or create the functionality. If someone is on "friends lock" there is no way to send them a message to let them know you are trying to contact them. The is no "front page" or way to search for active users other than looking for people who comment on the posts. These conditions have been like this for over a year. The sad fact is, as someone else said, Xanga is basically dead as we knew it. "2.0" is void of the community spirit that people loved about "1.0"- and branding me as a "complainer" doesn't change that fact.

    So while you may be content to wait months and perhaps years to see some improvements to just bring it to the level of a "free" blogging site, there are many others not so patient, and are stressed out about renewing and wonder whether they should call it a day.

    And for the record - your predictions about the "demise of free blogging sites" doesn't seem to be panning out. Facebook, whom you said to be on the downslide is making new all time highs. But there I go again - criticizing when I could have just remained silent about the rhetoric used to justify and encourage paying for what we have now...

    • You are an incredible person, you know that?

      Let's clarify a few things:

      "Have you ever had to fire someone for poor job performance?" - yes, I have. And I agree, it is one of the toughest things to do. But before I even consider firing someone, I do my due diligence in making sure I have all the facts. I talk with the person, I get an idea of their mindset. Sometimes they aren't challenged enough, or they just aren't the right fit for the job. Sometimes it is something personal going on in their lives that they might need a boost of encouragement that ensures they have that one last chance. I work with them as long as possible to see if they want to do something else that could be available.

      Although I understand where you are coming from - I don't believe you have all the relevant information in order to make a qualified decision on this matter.
      Of course you have the right to do whatever you want in regards to Xanga. That's your choice. And I completely agree that the handling of the transition of 1.0 to 2.0 could've been done a lot better and respect your decision either way.

      "Not calling out faults at all and just ignoring them with little to no action taken to correct problems." - Yes, that is easy. And I agree that many things could have been done better. I've completely agreed on this matter. But many times when dealing with these issues, the core problem is about communication. One side doesn't communicate as well as it should. The goal at this phase is to address this issue of communication at it's core - then we can move forward. It isn't until these past couple of weeks that I've been able to talk with John directly. Hopefully, as things move forward, we can address this issue appropriately and with respect to everyone's needs.

      "Several people like ZSA_MD have expressed dissatisfaction with Xanga’s current bare bones environment and lack of communication. I suppose by your logic, they can all be grouped together as criticizing malcontents?" - NOT AT ALL! I have no problem with people sharing their opinions. I respect what you and others have shared. I've conveyed all of our opinions and critiques to John and the team. My concern is that we should be cautious in being overly-critical. There's a lot more to what's going on than just Xanga - and we need to respect that aspect of this ongoing issue. While it's ok to be critical, we must do so with respect to one another.

      "I would have liked to reply to your response the RIGHT way instead of having to create a new thread, but there is no “comment reply” feature except for the blog owner- a basic feature among many that are lacking in “2.0″. - that's a great idea. Let's make note of this situation so we can see how to improve it. :)

      "Xanga gave up its “criticism immunity” card when they started charging for their services. People have every right to complain when what was promised is not delivered with no attempt at all explaining the reason for the shortcomings." - Absolutely! I've actually encouraged it. Keep it coming. How can we improve what's going on unless people speak their minds. When people become critical of my stance on issues and I don't budge - it's because I gave my word on something that I can't back down from unless given permission to do otherwise. We may disagree, but I hope disagreements are done respectfully. When I mentioned in a previous thread that I won't comment further on a matter - it's because I don't have anymore to offer at the moment. Partially due to my word being given. I may personally disagree or can't say something, but it doesn't mean that people can't speak their minds. On another note, if I didn't want people to speak their minds, I'd block them from my blog altogether - and after a decade of blogging - I haven't done that yet.

      "It’s been over a year with no updates, and you really think I’m out of line calling that out?" - not at all. In fact, it's a common issue that led me to reach out to John directly. I was just as frustrated as you and many others have been. So we had to seek out answers and get an update. I'm not one to sit on the side lines and be an armchair QB on this matter. After all, I put myself out there - so I had to take some action to get some answers.

      "I’m just stating the obvious- we were told “2.0″ would be community centric like Xanga 1.0, and so far that has proven to be blatantly false." - It's a four phase transition. We've been stuck in phase 2 for much longer then expected. Stay tuned, as my conversations with John will show that we are setting things back on track again.

      "You’ve brought up the fact that it’s “up to the users” to make this a community, but the “users” don’t write the software or create the functionality. If someone is on “friends lock” there is no way to send them a message to let them know you are trying to contact them. The is no “front page” or way to search for active users other than looking for people who comment on the posts. These conditions have been like this for over a year. The sad fact is, as someone else said, Xanga is basically dead as we knew it. “2.0″ is void of the community spirit that people loved about “1.0″- and branding me as a “complainer” doesn’t change that fact." - much of this aspect of the community involvement will be transitioning soon. Like I shared in my previous response - we've been stuck in phase 2 of a 4 phase process. We'll be moving forward again shortly.

      "So while you may be content to wait months and perhaps years to see some improvements to just bring it to the level of a “free” blogging site, there are many others not so patient, and are stressed out about renewing and wonder whether they should call it a day." - People have a choice to do what they want to do. It's their choice to stay or move on. My goal here is to provide information and keep the project moving forward. To say that I have had patience is kind. To be honest, I've been just as frustrated as you - and more. Thousands of families and individuals with Autism really liked what Autisable had offered - and we've been trying to keep that going as well.

      "And for the record – your predictions about the “demise of free blogging sites” doesn’t seem to be panning out. Facebook, whom you said to be on the downslide is making new all time highs. But there I go again – criticizing when I could have just remained silent about the rhetoric used to justify and encourage paying for what we have now…"
      - Facebook has had it's challenges - and is constantly changing to ensure its still viable. But facebook isn't a blogging platform. Free blogging sites like wordpress and blogger still remain - but they have added constraints that limit the amount of blogging one can do. Mainly by features available, memory available, etc... The blogging world has changed considerably since I posted about the 'demise' of free blogging. One can still blog for free, but to do more with one's blog - one does have to start looking at paying money as your blog grows and one wants more functionality.

      Thanks again for your insights. I don't consider you complaining all the time. I would encourage you, however, to highlight more positive things in what's going on - and seeing how we can exploit them and encourage others to do the same.

      Keep being awesome.

  • After being stuck in phase two so long do you really think they'll be anybody left when phases three and four roll out? A blogging community needs bloggers and, in case you haven't noticed, there ain't many of those left on Xanga and they'll be even fewer come October when all this one year subscriptions are up. People have other options, free options. They're not going to pay Xanga for years in the hope it will someday become what we were told Xanga 2.0 would be. Honestly, if the Xanga team is actually working on phase three, they should probably call it a day and devote their time to more profitable endeavors rather than to a paid blogging site who's only paying customer will likely be you.

    • Well, the next few weeks ought to be rather interesting then...

      I'm sure John and the Team will want to extend peoples subscriptions to blog on Xanga in order to accomodate some level of fairness as a result of this past year.

      Also, for those who want to help build the community - they would be provided the ability to blog for free.
      (so, on that note, I wouldn't even be paying for it)

      Remember what John and the Team said about the 4 phase process.
      http://thexangateam.xanga.com/2013/09/03/the-four-phases-of-the-xanga-2-0-launch/

      As John and even Marc related to me several times over the past few years... if this was about the money, Xanga would've closed shop long ago.... this is about community.
      They've realized their faults - and we're all trying to move forward.

      There's still interest from the thousands of folks we're still connected with via social media to keep it going forward.

      If anything, Xanga has an obligation to at least try to make an effort.

      So... we press on.

  • "You are an incredible person, you know that?"

    Uh, okay- I'm not sure of your reasoning behind that, but thanks - I'll take that over the "It’s easy to sit and be critical of others actions" intro. =)

    "Although I understand where you are coming from – I don’t believe you have all the relevant information in order to make a qualified decision on this matter."

    The information I am working with is as follows:

    1) Xanga 2.0 was promoted to be as community centric 1.0.

    2) The Xanga Team acknowledged they were lacking in communicating and said things would be different going forward in the new era of "2.0"

    3) The actual functionality of "2.0" has been far below that of free blogging sites and is missing the critical features of "1.0" that fostered such a great community.

    4) There have been ZERO updates from Xanga since the initial few days of the transition over a year ago.

    5) Most premium users of "1.0" who transferred over had their sub time run out and lost their blogging rights unless they pay the $48/yearly fee.

    6) Those who paid the $48/fee for a year of service see the deadline approaching for when their subscription will expire, and they are being asked to pay an additional $48 to continue.

    Now if there is some "hidden" and yet undisclosed information that will nullify all the negatives associated with what I pointed out to render all my posted conclusions invalid, I am certainly looking forward to hearing it, but I'm sure you can also understand my high degree of skepticism of that actually being the case.

    Barring the entire Xanga Team being kidnapped and unable to access a computer, the "year sabbatical" from updates is going to be hard to explain away.

    "It isn’t until these past couple of weeks that I’ve been able to talk with John directly. Hopefully, as things move forward, we can address this issue appropriately and with respect to everyone’s needs."

    That's great that you were able to talk to John directly, but I believe we were all under the assumption that communication wouldn't still be this problematic as this was addressed over a year ago with a promise for Xanga to improve. The fact that communication got much worse instead of better doesn't lend to their credibility.

    "I would encourage you, however, to highlight more positive things in what’s going on – and seeing how we can exploit them and encourage others to do the same."

    It's difficult to point out positives when the negatives are taking center stage.

    The critical issue at hand is time. When Xanga first transferred over to 2.0, they lost a significant amount of people, but a sizable portion made full pledges and transferred over. Those who didn't were watching to see what "2.0" was about.

    I don't have to repeat all the problems of the transition - the bottom line here is those who saw all the problems decided it wasn't worth paying for and moved on- that was the first great opportunity missed to save the community.

    Next, the extended time with really no community features has decimated user activity further. Many people who initially paid to blog stopped using the site or blogged much less frequently. This in turn made others users leave as blogger activity slowed. A much smaller portion or the original paying blogs still remain active today. This was another big setback on saving the community.

    Now we are at what I would call the final nail in the coffin stage with subscriptions running out for many, who will not renew under the continuing subpar conditions. Once they are gone, those who decide to pay will see another great drop in blogging activity- making that the point of no return. No one wants to blog in a near vacant site.

    The main point that John, you, and Xanga seem to be missing is, everyday Xanga exists without community features is another day former Xanga bloggers become acclimatized somewhere else. They are establishing new homes in other places and the more they get established, the less likely they will be interested in returning, especially to a pay wall site.

    Think of it from a business perspective. If Facebook or Google were to shut down most of their features for a year- they would likely lose the majority of their customers to other sites and never get them back.

    This is why it's critical for John to give an update to the current subscribers NOW as opposed to a few weeks from now after they have moved on.

    The longer it takes for Xanga's community features to be restored, the less people will be likely to return. There's been no real community for over a year- what makes you think there will be some great pilgrimage back if this extends out longer, even with some awesome excuse explaining this past year from John/Xanga?

    Xanga 2.0 wasn't promoted as a "future community" project with a multiyear timeline to deliver 1.0 look and feel years down the line. If they did, I doubt they would have even come close to making their pledge drive goals.

    Even you were forced to move your Autisable group- at a certain point it's becomes time to leave and move on.

    • Not missing any point, soulfire.

      In fact, I agree with much of what you are sharing here - and I know it will make it harder for Xanga to 'rebound'. To that there is no doubt.

      I'm more of a realist than what I put online. I'm not blind to what is going on.

      As far as Autisable, plans have already been in the works to - as I've shared before - for it to spin off from Xanga as it's own company. However, all the data is on Xanga's old and newer servers. So we're in transition as well. Once it's ready, it will be ready.

      We have our social media sites being active - and provide updates as often as we can about the site. Most recent one being that we have our URL active again - encouraging people to connect with us through our social media sites.

      We also are gearing up for e-mail notifications of our regular syndicated bloggers and organizations that we've connected with over the years.

      So to say that I understand what is necessary - is an understatement.

      I'm just helping out Xanga where I can - as it wasn't for the Team - Autisable wouldn't even exist.

      I can say that John should have an update soon - expect it this week.

      He was supposed to release his latest update today - but his kid (and now him) are sick with a serious bug. So I expect it this week at the latest - if not possibly even tomorrow.

      I wish i could say more - but there's really nothing else to offer at the moment except the fact that this update was to share that communication lines have reopened - which is progress.

      I've already conveyed to John and the team about all of what you and many others have shared (didn't I mention that already?) - and even he agreed.

      It's just not my place to share certain things - but to share what I can.

      In short: things are slowly improving - and we should at least look on the bright side amidst the year long debacle that it has been.

      Progress... is... progress.

  • For me, the bright side is that there are people who do still care. Several of them are up there in comments, saying what they think, and what they care about. Those who don't care can't really be bothered to come and comment.

    Personally, I'm deeply disappointed in the site 2.0. WordPress for free has more functionality, and allows more creativity in design than this site. Part of my joy in the original Xanga was the ability to have my page reflect the seasons, my mood, whatever I wanted. Now, I'm stuck with such a basic lack of control of my page that I can't even have colors I want where I want them. I can't have a banner of my choice at the top of my page anymore. My site depresses me. I have a free WP site. I love it, but it's NOT Xanga. I want my graphics back!! At least we should have the same free choices of backgrounds and page set ups as the FREE WP site has!

    It's hard to be cheery and positive when your blog that used to be wonderfully customizable is now so NOT functional...and free sites are better graphically than what is paid for.

    • I agree, having people that care and comment is what makes it all worth it. :)

      Expect things to change regarding Xanga 2.0 very soon. In talking with John, a lot of behind the scenes stuff has been happening that they were knee deep in.

      I also agree that it is is hard to be positive at this time.

  • Joel,
    Have read the Oct 1, 2014 Xanga 2.0 Update and have communicated with Eugenia at help@xanga.net. I appreciate having my subscription extended for free by six months ; Considering the fact that there is no available information w/link to actually pay for a new 12 month subscription anywhere in My Account section of my blog Dashboard. In your next communication with John could you please ask the following: Do you have plans to add a page for subscribers to pay their annual subscription fees online? There is no link I have found in my account to do this. There appears to be no information how how and where to send checks or to utilize credit/debit cards.
    Also how about considering payments by online direct withdrawals from checking accounts. This should have been addressed long before now. Thanks! Peter Murray

    • Thanks Peter for the ideas.

      For the past several months there have been several requests on how to go about payment processing - and people still want to create a new account.

      I'll bring these notes up to John when next we meet.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment