Month: February 2015

  • Some Updates

    imgres

    I've been so focused on getting Autisable ready, that I haven't had a chance to really address this blogs look and feel.

    This theme is what was transferred from Xanga 1.0.  And although I'm not one for a lot of change, I'm ready for when theme's become available and I can modify/update my xanga blog.

    I appreciate Eugenia for helping to get this blog at least presentable.   The old Brain Fried Network header that barelyjen created all those years ago is still here, although that website has been down for some time.

    That's the era of websites, when they work - you stick with them... when they don't, you move on.

    For me, I see Xanga moving forward.  Is it as fast as I expected it to be?  No, of course not.   But it's good to know it's still around and the team is working on improvements.

    I've always viewed the initial upgrade of utilizing wordpress as changing the foundation of a building.   With the framework, the steel beams and walls, being the upcoming theme system.   This is aspect of dealing with features that the team is on right now.

    From my conversations with John, he wants to push out some updates that we can actually see.   Which I think is a good thing, and to which I'm sure many people will say, "about dang time."

    It was pretty cool this past week that a reporter from the Washington Post highlighted Xanga has one throwback site that still around.

    Some folks in my last few updates and in messages have asked me to share on this blog what we share on Xanga's facebook page.

    I do have some good news on that note, and it doesn't require me to keep track of all the posts on the page to share on my blog...

    Now, for those who aren't on facebook - you can still view Xanga's facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/xanga without an account.

    You don't have to have an account on facebook to see all the updates we're posting.  The only thing you are unable to do is comment/like or share those updates.  We are currently making all facebook posts public, so as to make sure everyone can see all posts on the page, regardless if they have a facebook account or not.

    I am coordinating with The Xanga Team as to find and locate active bloggers on the site, and will be sharing their Xanga blog posts on the facebook page.   Even though you may not have an account on the facebook page, you can still click those links and still be connected to Xangans. :)

    This level of sharing will be much easier for us to do, rather than trying to get all status updates in a single post.   It will also allow everyone to see comments on the page, even though you may not be able to comment.

    Think of it as treating the Facebook page as Xanga's main page where bloggers posts are highlighted, at least until the team updates the main page.   Also, based on previous blog posts and conversations with John - the front page of Xanga is expected to be managed by xangans.

    There are some challenges with sharing content from xanga blogs onto Xanga's facebook page  - so I'll name a few:
    1.  many folks have followers lock on their blog.  this means that if you have your account settings are adjusted that only followers can see your blog, don't expect your blog to be shared on Xanga's Facebook page.   Beyond that, don't expect any new people visiting your blog either.   Adjust your settings if you want more people to see what you're writing/sharing.

    2. some folks have sign-in lock turned on.   This means that someone has to be signed into Xanga in order to see your blog posts.  Again, this is fine if you like Xangans to visit your blog (upgraded xanga accounts or not), but it also means we can't share your content via the Xanga Facebook page - as the blog doesn't appear on Facebook and therefore a challenge to share it to more xangans/general public.

    3. add media to your blog - search for a relevant picture for your blog post.  This is an option, but a visual prompt with a blog gets more attention then just the words.

    Use of the facebook page will change over time, but being that I'm not the only one managing the page - it will provide an opportunity for everyone to see what's going on in a real time fashion, and not have to wait on me to provide an update.

    Please let me know if you have any further questions/concerns.

    ----------Update------------

    Here's the settings in your dashboard to adjust if you want to change them...

    Screen Shot 2015-02-20 at 4.14.05 PM

  • Taking the right Steps

    imgres

     

    In John's latest post he discusses the teams efforts in choosing the right theme system.

    Here's the link to his post:  http://thexangateam.xanga.com/2015/02/11/what-weve-been-learning-about-themes/?

    The theme of a site is how a site looks and feels, and a theme system is the framework by which most everything else revolves around.

    This step is extremely important in site development, as the current major theme systems on the market each have pros and cons.   John did mention a few in his post.

    What we are using now with Xanga is the default theme system that came out of the box with a self-hosted wordpress site.   As many have shared in FB groups and on the Xanga FB page (along with this blog) - they are not thrilled at all.    After all, the default theme system we are using is nothing but what is used on a basic default wordpress website.

    The issue with choosing and selecting what theme system will work best depends on what direction we as a community want to use the site for, and how we want to manage our own blogs.

    How pages are displayed, how we manage our blogs - and what other plugins (or features) we apply to the site from here on out  - needs to be compatible with the framework that is being selected/applied to the site.

    As John shared in his post, the Xanga team is researching which theme system may work best, as some are more about flexibility and others for ease of use.

    Personally, I like a balance between flexibility and ease-of-use.     But I tend to venture more on the ease-of use side, with the option to add CSS/HTML in a module for a section on my blog.    This, in my opinion, is what Xanga 1.0 had available... at least for premium members.

    Being able to adapt my blog how I see fit, and maintain a strong level of connectivity to others on the platform, is something that I think made 1.0 ... well, what we miss.

    I like setting up my blog for long term use, and updating a section or two for seasonal and/or special reasons.   In short, I don't like to change things up on my blog all the time.   I've found that blogs that change their look and feel a lot tend to confuse me.  Am I on the same persons blog that I visited last week? or is this a new person?    Stability in my sites look and feel is a part of branding I'd like to have some ease in managing.   I'd also like to add HTML/CSS to my blog, especially pertaining to advertising or getting paid to do something.  After all, that small level of flexibility would allow me to earn a bit of revenue.  If anything, to at least cover an annual cost or two for myself and others.

    But again, it all begins with the theme system.... and which one that is available that could be adapted to our purpose on Xanga 2.0 the best.

    It is a lot of research, and to be honest - I've only done a cursory amount on the topic.

    For those interested in this topic, here are some articles online that might prove interesting:

    http://amylynnandrews.com/how-to-choose-a-wordpress-theme/ 

    http://www.websitegeographer.com/wordpress-theme-blog/

    http://www.wpexplorer.com/simplify-presence-wordpress-products/

    http://www.1stwebdesigner.com/genesis-framework-review/

    http://www.sitepoint.com/4-popular-wordpress-theme-frameworks/

    http://athemes.com/collections/best-wordpress-theme-frameworks/

    Of course it's a lot of information to take in, and I'm sure John and the Team are pouring over a lot more information then I could even think of.

    Addressing a theme, therefore, isn't just about formatting and how the site looks and feels... it's about the future of Xanga.

    Any insight on this topic is always welcome.   I'm personally looking more at the Genesis framework...

    But who knows, the team might take notes that attribute the best parts of each system... and design one that is more secure then any of the others.

    Do you prefer ease of use? or would you prefer more flexibility in managing your blog?

    (already several good comments on The Xanga Team's update about this topic)

  • Forward Motion in Spite of Setbacks

    imgres

     

    Every project that I've ever been a part of has had its fair share of set backs.

    Set backs are present for a reason.   The biggest one is to accept that they happen and to learn from them.

    So long it is learned why set backs may happen in situations, then further progress can be made and forward motion on the project can still happen.

    It can be heart wrenching to be a part of a setback.   After all, if you put a lot of energy into a project just to find out that it isn't working or there is delay after delay...  one can feel rather drained on wanting to have anymore to do with it.

    Although Xanga has had it's own series of setbacks, John and the Team are still moving forward.   I know personally of at least 20 messages these past couple of weeks from people who want to regain access to their xanga blog, and a few more who wanted to upgrade their account.   Of course I share that people really need to contact the team at 'help@xanga.net' with their username and e-mail address associated with the account, and it moves on from there....

    For the most part,  my involvement with Xanga has been minimal for the past few weeks.  Mainly pointing people to the e-mail address and doing a few FB page updates.  Been fun working on Xanga's Facebook page, especially putting up some of latest posts. :)

    As it's now February, a change in thought happened.  At least with me it has....

    There are a few thousand people still very active on private facebook groups.   There are also some Xangans that are very active on Xanga - but their privacy settings are as such that I can't just share their content unless people are signed into their account.

    I know people are active on the site still.   I read it regularly everyday when I log into my account.  I also understand that people like to have some control over their privacy.

    It's the latest thing to highlight about Xanga.  Not much, I know.  The community still the people, not the software we miss.   There's at least 10 or more Xanga FB groups, with many being private.   But what if everyone just got active on Xanga's FB page rather than those groups?

    Who'd be interested in helping to make the Xanga Facebook page better?

    In any event, progress is being made.   John is working on his next Xanga Team update - should have it very soon.

    Until later... back to the grind.