April 4, 2015

  • It's April - Autism Awareness Month... and something else...

    These past few weeks I've been tackling a few things around our home...

    From trees being removed, to putting up new fences, spring cleaning, and getting things ready for the end of the school year.

    These, along with the usual online stuff I normally do, it's been busier than normal.

    But I like doing things that are constructive and keep me moving and active, don't you?

    I have a serious challenge remaining still for too long.  It frustrates me when I need to keep still.  But sometimes sitting still allows us to reflect on things a bit more... so I remind myself.

    In any event, here's a couple of things to keep on the lookout for:

    April is Autism Awareness Month, so there's going to be some posts about that topic this month.   I am encouraged that the folks at www.playingforchange.org will be doing a bit of collaboration for the series we're working on for The Autism Channel.   Here's one of their music videos...

    For something a bit more Xanga related, expect some announcements soon - as some testing is already being done on a couple of new features to be launced.  One has been requested by many folks since the launch of 2.0. :)

    Ok, back to the grind....

Comments (12)

  • That's good to hear ~ another of my Xanga friends did not renew today ~ her husband just passed away and she just couldn't think about that right now ~ sure hate to lose her from the Xanga community ~ :( She is just the sweetest lady ~

    • What's your friends username? We'll see what we can do to assist in the meantime.

  • I think I already have gotten a taste of some of the new stuff. Seems I'm getting a few but not all email notices that someone has replied to a comment I made on their posts!! Yay!

    • Glad to read you're seeing some changes/notifications as well. It's still being tested out - but replying to comments and getting notifications of being replied to is one update that has been requested multiple times. I expect things to improve as we move forward. :)

  • Joel, please could you ask Jon to date his updates on the Xanga site. It would be very helpful. I think I saw a reply button as well -- glad to see some progress. Do we know what will happen in May re: payments?

  • Here's hoping to a new feature that allows one to permanently delete his/her account. Wanting to finally be done with the sham of a blogging site known as Xanga, I've tried multiple times to shutdown my account. It goes through successfully and my site disappears but then the following morning my email inbox is full of notifications of all the SPAM that has been added to the comments section of my posts, which are then all back up online. The sole purpose of Xanga 2.0 seems to be as a venue for bot SPAM and if I didn't know better I might think that Xanga is being paid by the SPAMMERS and that the only reason they're keeping the site alive is to because of all the money they're making from it.

    • Curious Skanlyn, were you able to e-mail 'help@xanga.net' and touch base with the Team to address this issue? If not, please let me know.

      In regards to Spammers, I know that John was trying to upgrade the spam filters this past month. From experience, spam happens a lot because a site is gaining traction in traffic. In as much as we dislike spam, having it is a good sign of growth... but it's also good that we can block it from actually being applied to our accounts (unlike with 1.0)

  • @edlives: I did and as I expected, they did nothing (in the three or so days since I emailed)

    • No worries Skanlyn, I'm sure there's a valid reason. I'm following up with Eugenia and John on a few things and will add this to my list.

  • @edlives: Is there a valid reason it's been almost two year now and nothing has happened with Xanga 2.0 other than them looking at what they learned about "themes"? At what point Joel will you finally throw in the Towel? 3 years? 5? 10? Isn't that six month extension (which I did not get as I refused to beg) about to expire? Will they be offering yet another extension or actually taking people's money? Given that their revenue appears to come from SPAMMERS now, I'm not sure it's necessary for them to do the latter. And please don't tell me how much progress has been made. It hasn't. If it had, Xanga 2.0 would be fully functional by now. I just want to be done with this stupid site already but they refuse to let me permanently shut down my site.

    • Hey Skanlyn:

      In regards to the point of me throwing in the towel, it won't be anytime soon - but the idea has popped into my head from time to time.
      My main involvement with Xanga now is to make sure the community that is Xanga has a more official place to connect while the team does whatever it needs to do. If nothing happens, at least we will have a place via FB to remain connected. Of course I hope that 2.0 will improve, and based on the conversations I've had with John and the team, it's mainly been positive - albeit slow.

      I have put my two cents to the team, and have received many answers and passed them along.

      In regards to your site, I'm sure that issue can be resolved.

      As for spammers, any site that has even a small sense of growth will get spam comments. Understanding how to manage one's account in regards to spam, along with making sure Xanga regularly improves it's anti-spam software - will help.

  • @edlives: John and the team are lying to you. They are being paid by the spammers so they are, of course, not going to stop it. As for "any site that has even a small sense of growth", you've go to be kidding. If I can't convince you after nearly two years then I may as well give up. Xanga 2.0 is as good as it is going to get. And your remark that at least y'all have a Facebook site at which to meet completely dismisses the fact that people actually paid for their Xanga 2.0 account, some of them purchasing multiple or lifetime memberships. But anyway, I will now go about the daily ritual of shutting down my account.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment