April 27, 2015

  • A Monday Morning Xanga Update

    I hope everyone is well and had a great weekend.

    Right now I've finished my first cup of coffee and have been in thought as I catch up with all the questions and concerns regarding Xanga.

    Many people have messaged Xanga's facebook page regarding a few items in question... so here's what I've been able to gather so as to provide a bit of understanding and hope...

    1 - Top of the list is in regards to response time from 'help@xanga.net'.    Realize that it's usually Eugenia who has been responding to everyone's e-mails, and she was out for a short period of time and is back doing a bit of catch up to help everyone out again.  Thanks for your patience.

    2 - Next on the list is in regards to people being concerned about their subscription running out come the beginning of May.  I've messaged John/Marc and Eugenia as to make sure we address this issue appropriately.

    3 - there has been a lot of interest from folks wanting to get back onto Xanga.   IF you have a xanga username and know what your e-mail address was that is associated with the account, then you should be able to get your account on Xanga upgraded.   New accounts are not yet available.

    4 - The team is working on getting more (older accounts/ photos/ videos) back online from the old servers.   At the same time I found this out from John,  I also received e-mails and messages that some folks were missing some photos from their accounts... so that should explain what happened on that note.

    5 - Spam filtering was being updated.   Now many have issues with spam on their accounts, ie... spam comments.   With the site now wordpress based, it's easier to block spam commenters.   There may be a flare up of spammers - but as things progress the spam blocking software should improve over time.

    6 - reply comments notification is now active.    John and the Team upgraded the notifications that let you know when your comment is replied to.   Right now, it's best used when you 'REPLY' to a comment.  New comments on existing posts are not yet notifying everyone involved in the comment thread.    For those who are facebook geeks, this means that our blogs comments are responding similar to a facebook business (ie fan) page.

    As soon as I get a response from John and/or the team, I'll update everyone with the information.

    If you have any other questions/concerns - feel free to leave a comment.

    Thanks.

     

Comments (25)

  • Thank you for your help with these issues! With May 1 coming so soon, I hope John will respond quickly!

  • Thank you for the updates.

  • Thank you for posting this information as my subscription is up on May 1st.

  • @slmret: see my post tomorrow. Michel Fauquat got a rely from Eugenia about the how and where to renew subscriptions!

  • @murisopsis: TY. Too bad I can't mail a certified bank check or Money order (I'm old school).

    • Hey Crystalinne, try getting a visa gift card from your grocery store. You should be able to use that like a credit card to make the transaction happen. :)

  • @edlives: Thank you.

  • Thanks for the update, Joel. My husband has been talking about upgrading his blog and I wasn't sure if the subscription renewal info applied to blogs that didn't upgrade during the big changeover.

    • Actually, anyone who's had an account on Xanga can upgrade. The only thing not available are the creation of new accounts.

  • Thank you, Joel. I am just so sad two more friends have left Xanga. Still hanging in here ~ hope others don't get discouraged. So, the missing photos will turn up again?? I do love Xanga ~ don't want to see it die.

  • I have gotten a few notices that my comment has been replied to, but certainly not nearly every time ~ wondering what I am doing wrong or whether this process is not yet completed?

    • Let's consider the replies and notifications a start. More will obviously need to be done as Xanga moves forward. :)

  • Good job Joel! Thank you. I would love to see the emoticons like we had on the old xanga-- Some new ones and not just the smiley faces or the hearts that we can do via our keyboard.

  • I was able to get a transaction through just fine, but it's not automatically reflecting on my Xanga Account Manager, so be prepared for an influx of terrified comments just in case. Since I'm renewing 9 accounts, I'm crossing my fingers that separate login to each account is enough to establish which account is being updated, since email confirmation doesn't specify account name.

    • hello GrandFortuna!

      Once you make the transactions, be sure to e-mail 'help@xanga.net' and include the usernames(account names) and other related information.

      Currently the transactions aren't automatically making sure the accounts are updated.

  • @edlives: Good to know, thank you! I shall do that. =)

    • Hope it's worked for you. I know Eugenia is catching up now... so feel free to touch base if you have any future issues. :)

  • @edlives: I'm pinkybluejacky on pinterest, PinkyGuerrero on twitter and facebook, GrandFortuna & Bluejacky on Xanga, and Janika Banks on G+. janikabanks.com I'm all over the place ;) #aspienado

  • Please help me log back into my account! I cant do nothing and I believe my old email account been* spammed* long time ago so whatever email that is does not exist. I can provide any extra information regarding my account though if you email me back please at saultyus@gmail.com my Xanga account was Xanga.com/kingsaul been a member since like 2003 ect. I have soo many pictures and history saved on there

    • I've forwarded your information to Eugenia. Let me know if there isn't an answer by end of week.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment