Month: August 2015

  • And the Journey Continues

    Ok, for those interested in the Xanga side of things - a small update.

    I've sent John a few e-mails.   A couple of e-mails were of what people had a concern over in regards to the Team not providing us an update.

    Now, I know that there's plenty going on with servers and basic site software upgrades, and that they've been doing some research regarding themes...  But I don't know anything beyond that for Xanga at the moment... so if you've been keeping track - there's not a lot of new things to report at the moment.  It's up to John and the Team to provide an update.

    I will say that as I'm looking into Autisable being upgraded more, deciding on a framework for your wordpress site is an important decision that must be thought through very carefully.   Your site framework sets the stage on what you can and can't do down the road.  After all, what Xanga is doing with wordpress is a bit more than just a standard blog.  Of the major theme frameworks that are available, there are some security issues that must be addressed.   Some programmers opt to create their own framework rather than take what is more readily available - due to security reasons.   Again, that's just my perspective on the themes issue, and I think that John and the team need to provide us a bit more of an update on this matter for Xanga.

    I have also sent John a couple of e-mails about Autisable transitioning away from Xanga proper, and having my own team work on the site.   This has been in discussion with the Xanga team for some time, now it's time to work on the steps to make it happen.

    I expressed to John and the team that I'm remaining around with Xanga as long as everyone still wants me around.  Happy to do so.

    Well, back to the grind...

  • Server's, Spam and Upgrading Sites - Oh My

    Got a couple of small updates from John before 5am this morning via e-mail...

    "Was doing an upgrade just now and ran into some issues.  We requested our collocation facility to reboot our hardware, and waiting to hear back."

    That was at about 4:48am this morning.   So, if you were trying to get on the site and ran into a small snag early this morning - you now know what happened.

    I let John know that we're long over due for an update from the team.

    There's some Autisable updates I'll be working on soon.   Most of the updates you can now see on Autisable's main page.  In fact, as we move forward you'll see more autisable updates on Autisable and not as much on this blog.

    Beyond that I have to review several hours of video and get the second episodes content over to the editor so it can be released in a decent amount of time.  There's also working on some business end stuff so we can accept payment from advertisers/sponsors.

    I plan on talking with John further regarding Xanga as soon as we can knock out a time to talk.

    Will keep you posted.

    The work continues....

  • The Summer Slow Down

    11800600_10153254029369262_6122702464320080760_n

     

    It happens every year in the middle of the August.

    Beautiful weather, everyone is outside enjoying that thing called life, and we experience what many call, "The Summer Slow Down."

    Being on Xanga and blogging for over a decade I've seen it so often that you can actually plan for it.

    It's also a great time to gear things up for the fall and winter.   A good time to relaunch sites and tweak them.  In short, it's a good time to work behind the scenes while getting ready for when everyone is back to the regular year-round routine.

    On a personal note, I've been officially unemployed for about a year and a half.   Yep, I don't get paid for doing things on Xanga.  My aim on this blog and being a point person for the community is all about, well, the community.

    So, while I'm dealing with home repair, getting Autisable back on track and being the husband and father I need to be.... I'm still trying to keep tabs on Xanga.  I'm also looking for work.

    Since it's been awhile since I've made a Xanga related post - here's one to share while we are in the midst of the summer slow down.

    Now, there's a lot going on behind the scenes with the Xanga team.   A lot going on with Eugenia and John and Marc.   But it's really not my place to share things that I have no permission or direction in sharing.    Things that are of a personal nature I leave for each of the xanga team members to share.   Things as they relate to Xanga I share after making sure I have it confirmed with John and/or Eugenia.

    What I can say is that Eugenia is keeping tabs and following up with e-mails ( at 'help@xanga.net') and is continually helping folks out with their accounts.   I can say that Marc is as he's always been with the Team, a bit off to the side while John and everyone else is working on the servers and addressing themes.   For the longest time it was Marc who I've been in touch with regarding Autisable's mission and direction.... with some consultation with John.

    Some have chided the team, or me for that matter, in leading people in the wrong direction and taking peoples money.

    Allow me to share something on this note, while we are in the midst of the summer slow down....

    Two years ago we were looking at Xanga completely folding.    This means that there would have been absolutely no service for our blogs to remain.   By raising funds as a community, we were able to salvage what remains of Xanga, and provide a platform and servers for the site to continue.    This has still allowed people, even two years later, to retrieve their archives (for free).   It has also allowed anyone with a Xanga account to still either blog on Xanga (for $4 per month) or blog elsewhere.  This could not have been possible if it wasn't for everyone helping.

    Several people who have lost their loved ones who blogged on Xanga regularly, are still able to seek access to their loved ones accounts.   This is something one cannot put a price tag on, and providing a sense of peace in that area of a persons life is very important.

    Personally, I still see the ROI of doing $4 per month on Xanga compared to a free wordpress site.

    Over the next several months I will be shifting my focus onto Autisable a bit more, as is to be expected.

    I'm already working with a good team, and we are collaborating with John and the Xanga team on making Autisable it's own company in the near future.    Again, as expected.

    That being said, I want to reassure you that I'm still blogging on Xanga, and will still be a community liaison.

    I've shared all of our concerns to the Xanga team, specifically to John.   It is up to him and the team to respond accordingly.

    As things move forward, I'm sure you know that I will keep everyone informed either way.

    So as we get close to the end of summer, let's be hopeful of what is to come.

    Until later, back to the grind.

  • A Web Series

    What happens when you get a few folks together to address a common issue?   Progress.

    Thanks to Noah Guthrie and Project Lifesaver International, along with Tikko, Nick Phillips and Jason.....(and the list goes on)

    With Autisable relaunching yesterday, and the web series starting... I'm very grateful.... and going to be pretty swamped for awhile as we get the site more active and up to par from what it once was.

    The series will air a new episode once a month (that's our goal), with the first episode shown above.

    Now that Autisable is back online, much of my own blogging about the site and about Autism will slowly transition to there - as it once was before.

    In regards to Xanga, I know that the team was working on getting more data off of the old servers to the new ones.   There was a lot of concern about photo's and videos being lost from users, so the team has been addressing those issues.   They also are still working on a theme management system that deals with security issues more than what is currently on the market.   John spent the past few days personally getting Autisable relaunched, so you'll have to blame me for a small delay on using some of John's time away from Xanga.

    There's still much on Autisable that is to be done, but for now we're back online - and I'm very grateful.

    John and the team are still around, and still want to see Xanga move forward.    I'm still in touch with John to see about getting more updates from him on thexangateam's blog.

    We're all still here.

    Until later... back to the grind I go.

  • Autisable is Back Online!

    Autisable.com is back

    Yes folks, after nearly two years, Autisable.com is back online.

    There is going to be a period of transition while we shake off the dust and get things going... but the site is relaunched!

    Up next?

    A Web series being launched, called Autisable Live!

    Stay tuned!

  • A Productive Couple of Weeks

    These past couple of weeks a lot has been happening...

    So here's a few updates:

    •  I've been working with contractors to deal with several home improvement projects.  Everything from a new roof and windows, to adding a front porch to our home.
    • Keeping production moving forward with the web series for Autisable.
    • Trying to keep tabs on what is going on with the Autism community
    • Applying to jobs

    Suffice it to say, the work with the contractors is now complete - but there's always house work to deal with.   But, working with contractors can always lead to my time being pulled away from doing other things.   The good news is that the contractors we had were easy to work with and did an awesome job.

    Of course, I had to keep things moving as well with Autisable.  The first episode of the series is ready to launch, and so we are now working on the second episode while waiting for the website to relaunch.

    I did receive some disappointing news, however, in that our series will not (at this time) be picked up by The Autism Channel.   In time we hope that will change, but it doesn't deter us from moving forward.   Our advertisers are still on board, and we are still excited about what's to come.

    The Autism community always has something going on, so it's imperative that I keep tabs on the latest news and developments.   This can be time consuming, especially if some hot topics are going on in the news.   Luckily the news has been rather steady, but not overwhelming.

    I was asked as to why I'm still looking for employment even though we have a lot going on with Autisable in the coming months.

    The reality is that Autisable is a small business, and its aim is to serve the Autism community.   In time its revenue will allow me to work full time.  However, I'm always looking to improve myself, and also need to work regularly.  Not just to be employed to have a paycheck, or for insurance... but to make sure I'm still learning and growing.

    I've found in these past couple of years that I have to keep working....  if anything, for sanity sake.

    Speaking of work...

    Back to the grind.