January 5, 2014

  • After the Holiday's Status Update

    These past several weeks have been incredibly busy for me.  Between working my regular job, trying to get some stuff done around the house, and connecting with folks to make the concert series happen...  I needed a break from the Holidays.

    A quick update on Xanga, from the various conversations I've had.... and what I can share ... the short story is that Xanga is moving forward.

    Now, we may not always see what the team is doing.  But, for those of us who've stuck around - we're seeing small additions here and there.   Personally I've been so busy that I haven't had a chance to update several social media pages and to keep on top of Xanga's Facebook page.   For those awaiting responses via that page, and know that I help in managing it... thank you for your patience, I'll be on there soon enough to help out again.

    The team is still working with accounts and data management, and will for some time.   Over 2 million accounts they are making accessible still (fixing correcting sites, and also for access to archives)... and I'm sure that it's a lot to take on for a team that is less than 20 people.  Of course I don't know the exact size of the Xanga team - but even if it was a thousand people on staff... 2 million accounts is still a lot of data and issues to go through.

    @Saintvi asked a question regarding the embedding of video's on his new platform.  Here's a link to help you out:
    http://en.support.wordpress.com/videos/youtube/

    It goes over basic embedding, along with formatting the video size, etc...

    I've been in several discussions with the folks on the Xanga team - and I'm extremely encouraged by what we are planning for this new year. There are several details which I can share... and some that aren't just ready to be shared at this time.

    Since Autisable is down for the upgrade - I'm posting more about  the site here.  Thank you for your understanding.

    For now, this is what I can share regarding Autisable (and to some folks, this may sound a bit repetitious):

    • The site ownership will eventually be transferred to my company.  Several folks have encouraged me in this avenue, including The Xanga Team.  Many people have already stepped up to the plate to bring Autisable to the next phase of development.   From ad sales, obtaining sponsors/investors,  to programmers and more...   Still a lot of work to do, but it's encouraging to see people willing to help wherever they can to help the Autism Community.
    • E-mail newsletter campaign to be launched this month (even prior to the relaunch).  Join the e-mail newsletter here: http://on.fb.me/1ijJHJ1.  Plan right now is one e-mail per month.  Hey, those e-mail campaigns can get rather expensive.
    • Development of a Behind the Scenes show for the concert series for The Autism Channel is in the works.  The Autism Channel reaches 27,000+ homes - and they have an indiegogo campaign to help with funding them to reach over 1,000,000 homes by end of 2014.  For more about The Autism Channel and to even help out with their campaign - check them out here:  http://igg.me/at/autismTV/x/5681500   - They are very professional and down to earth, and the video's they provide regarding what they've done and what they are planning on doing is very informative.
    • Concert Series is still progressing.  I can't wait to share more on who's involved.  What I can tell you is that we're already working with a Multi-Platinum record producer, Grammy Nominated artists, and also a few Youtube personalities.  And that's just the short list.  Over 30 people representing at least 6 non-profits and various businesses and organizations are on the hurry up and wait list as we move forward.   I'm incredibly excited by it all.   One of the Youtube artists we are working with is AJ Rafael - who just recently hit 500,000 Subscribers on his youtube channel.   - http://www.youtube.com/ajrafael

    There's more that we are planning on doing with the site after it is relaunched.  Such as an online store, the addition of the concert series as part of the site, etc...   But we're waiting until we are able to take a strong look at the site to see how we will proceed with further development - and that really can't happen right now until the site is upgraded and relaunched.

    Of course I've done some other stuff during the Holiday's - like spent time with family and attempted to relax - but now that the break time is over... it's time to get back to work.

    Until later...

     

     

Comments (7)

  • Thanks for the updates, Joel!
    I've had no problem adding videos to my site...it's worked well! :-)
    Continued good luck with your Autisable site!
    Happy New Year, too!
    HUGS!!! :-)

  • lol How did I miss this!!

    Very encouraging!!!

    Not sure what to do to renew my membership with them in the future.

  • It's good to hear that things are moving forward. But I wish they would communicate more. I'll probably end my stay here when my membership runs out.

    • Well, so few folks are on the team, so their efforts are currently focused on getting everyone up to speed. It is slow moving, but at least it's moving forward.

  • A bigger problem is they are still running the clock on memberships during this "transition time" and cancelling subs as they run out (for those who had less than 12 months membership time).

    What then? Pay for another subscription to experience more "transition time"?

    For the clock to running during this time makes absolutely no sense. Can you at least have them freeze memberships so they are not tallied for service during this time?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment