August 16, 2014

  • Still Here...Update on Autisable

    This past year has had it's share of challenges.  After all, last August we found ourselves nearing the end of Xanga 1.0 and starting Xanga 2.0.

    Autisable was effectively put on hiatus while Xanga was switching servers and migrating data - which from last report they are still in the process of doing - along with making sure people's accounts are back online.

    So, while we all are 'waiting' - I can't stay still....

    It's one of the by products of my personality... I have to do something to keep busy or I'll just go a bit on the crazy side...
    (I think many of us are that way... don't you?)

    So the plan of action was set in motion for Autisable - whether or not the site is 'online' at the current time.

    The goal?  To get the infrastructure built for a promotional campaign that would not only give back to the Autism community, but also be a way for companies to support the effort through advertising... keeping Autisable self-sustaining and 'free' to it's users.

    Now, I'd like to first share that when Autisable relaunches - it will NOT be what it once was.

    It will be powered by wordpress technology, and essentially be the main page along with the articles that we've been highlighting for the past 5+ years.

    About the only usernames that will remain on the site are those we were able to highlight from syndicated bloggers.

    Sad to say, data has been lost during this transition - but we are salvaging what we can during this time.

    At this phase we are almost half way through matching articles with authors.  Once this phase is completed we will be working on getting the website look and feel as close as possible to what it once was.

    The functionality will be very limited - but as we address some business between Xanga and Autisable - I will be talking with some local website developers to help bring Autisable up to speed.

    After Autisable's relaunch, the site will be legally transferred to a company that will be created - and the Xanga.com's role will be more along the lines of server maintenance and not website development or management.

    For those that don't know, LaNeshe and Eugenia and Myself have been the primary folks in working on Autisable in getting it through this first phase.  However, Eugenia (of The Xanga Team) has primarily been working on Xanga - and not able to fully focus on Autisable.  LaNeshe is expecting (YEAH!) and with that has her own things to plan for... like a little one on the way.

    Although we are attempting to sort through things as quickly as possible - life has thrown a few curve balls here and there.

    For me, I am unemployed and have to set time aside to search for jobs each week - along with taking care of my son.  On top of that addressing the issue of my Mom passing on Mother's Day this year - and all that entails.

    But... we still press on.

    Now that we're in the last half of getting Autisable back online - at least we can see what is going on... and what will be needed.

    With the sites relaunch, we're also developing a web series (for The Autism Channel), and working with Michael Copon Studios in Chesapeake, VA.   This includes collaborating with several non-profits and artists, to bring about information from artists that support autism awareness, to non-profits that help the autism community.

    Very exciting stuff.

    Ok, back to the grind I go.

    Have a great weekend.

Comments (9)

  • I wish you well! Nice to know a little about Xanga.

    What you are doing is over my head, but sounds very worthwhile.

    Nice hearing from you. I am still writing my nonsense.

    • Always good to read your nonsense. :)

      Granted I don't get a chance to always comment on other people's blog posts, but when I do get a chance a read them, I do.

  • Sounds like the Autisable website is moving forward. Yay for you! I wish the xanga team would post an update every couple of weeks or even once a month. Seems they are MIA and personally I'm not inclined to toss them any more money... When you log in you still get the generic webpage that just says Xanga - with the same old news.

    • It is slowly moving forward, but at least there is progress.

      I don't get too many updates from the team myself, but if and when I do - I try to pass what I can along.

  • It's good to know that Eugenia is concentrating on Xanga -- as Val said, though, it would be really helpful to know what comes next as we move towards the last month of the first year of Xanga 2.0.

    • Yeah, Eugenia has been a great help to me so far... she's fielding a lot of questions that I send her from Xanga's facebook page, along with countless others from Xanga's help page and answering questions from people sending her e-mails. And that's just her...

      I think people tend to forget that Xanga has just a few folks now working the site and servers... definitely NOT a large crew of people... and they are serving thousands of people while trying to rebuild the site.

  • It is really good to even hear about a "little" bit of progress for Xanga ~ I wish they would keep us updated somehow, but apparently, that is not a priority with them. Thank you for the info you offered ~ blessings to you ~

  • I myself couldn't wait for mobile viewing and started transferring copies to blogger, which is stimulating traffic back to xanga, so that is working out. My more serious Bluejacky posts are shunting over to a wordpress work blog I call aspienado (I founded the hashtag on twitter) and I'm happy to contribute again in future once autisable is ready. Before the big changes I was dealing with severe social anxiety and had quite of few of my aspie posts locked up private- those are coming out now, getting positive response on the wordpress blog. Autisable was my foot in the door writing 'real stuff' when everything was really hard and I was still learning to communicate via therapist. I'm really glad you're still building it, and I can't wait to see it! =)

    • Can't wait to relaunch it. :)

      Although it won't be what it used to be, we'll continue improvements after it relaunches.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment