Month: September 2014

  • Appreciating the Journey

    senecafront 2

    When I was a kid, my Dad and I would work on model trains.

    It was something we did together, as an effort to create those bonding moments between a father and son.

    The placing of each track, each building... creating an entire imaginary world... each grouping of buildings being given a name like a town.
    Every nook and cranny a little story on the large Model railroad set.

    We even belonged to a Model Railroad club that had a very large train set that was at the county fairgrounds.

    Years later, the train set and club moved to another location in a different town, and my Dad is across the country from where I live, and life has led me to this point in time.

    That train set at the fairgrounds was created and worked on for many years.  Each section of track meticulously placed, each building painted and aged to look almost real.

    It was an epic train set that ended up being featured in Model Railroader Magazine in October 1988.

    The amount of patience these men had was immense.

    I was just a kid wanting to play with the trains, wanting to see them speed along.

    After time I realized it wasn't about speeding along.  It wasn't about "getting it done"...

    The train set was continually being worked on, being updated, being modified.   It was a never ending process.

    Before I moved away with my family across country, I wanted to learn how to create the buildings - the bridges - and age a train with the right technique.

    One bridge was immense, built out of small sticks -not much bigger than toothpicks - but was several feet high and several feet wide.

    Watching trains cross that bridge was something I learned to not take for granted.  After all, everything was handcrafted on that bridge... and the backdrop of a mountain and canyon could make the image of this train traveling in such a way that when camera took a picture of it... it looked very real.

    I learned that in order to appreciate the trains running, I had to first appreciate the time and effort in it being built.

    With trains it is about the journey.  It's about riding the rails and enjoying the moments that pass before the window.

    I remember actually riding the train from Southern California up to Northern California along the coast.

    There's nothing quite like sitting on a railcar, looking out the window, and watching the Pacific Coast sunset.

    I learned that life is in the journey, and our destination is only a distant plan that we are working towards.

    Appreciate what you have.  It's amazing how something considered so small and insignificant, can become something so incredible.

    It's been a couple of decades since I've seen a good Model Railroad set, or have travelled in a train.

    But those experiences provided a different perspective on the appreciation of the moment.

    Life is, after all, a series of moments.

    I hope you have enjoyed this one.

  • An Update about Xanga - and - a Temporary Landing Page for Autisable

    finally

    The month of August was incredibly busy for me, personally.   After all, Short Stack was on vacation from school - and so my attention was required more than the usual.

    Which, to be completely honest, I didn't mind - at all. :)

    The reality is that I used the opportunity to spend more time with my family, as I should.  Gotta keep priorities in check, right?

    Along with keeping other aspects of recent events, like job hunting and so forth, my focus was to keep things moving forward... so there was a limited amount of time to devote to Xanga and/or Autisable's main website.

    That is... until last week... when I finally had the chance to talk with John at Xanga.

    Yes, John, the one for whom we are all waiting to hear from.

    But please, don't judge the man to harshly - or for that matter, this blog post... as I'm shaking the summer rust off of my blogging and getting back into the swing of things.

    But I digress....

    Continue reading