March 2, 2015

  • Getting Back to Routine

    As an Autism Parent, routine is one major issue that is a must to maintain.

    Whenever anything changes routine, the challenges associated with that change can include potential destruction.

    After two weeks of schedule changes with Short Stacks school being closed due to 'snow days' - today was the first day in getting back into routines.
    That, along with the weather changes and his 12 year molars coming in... it's been a rather fun-filled couple of weeks.

    Let's just say that I'm going to be getting some serious dry-wall technique practice in over the next few weeks.   (OH JOY!)

    I have, however, been able to start the first of several expected rewrites to my book about being an Autism Dad.     So that's some good news.
    In other good news, I was asked to be the Social Media Director for a non-profit called SonRise Music Festival.   It's a local ministry that brings in top christian musicians/bands for several days of performing at the Virginia Beach Oceanfront.  I'll share more about that project soon enough.  Although helping SonRise is a volunteer gig, it's a good cause.

    This past weekend I was also able to actually get paid in helping a friend get his social media back on track. (More an that down the road as well).

    Autisable is making serious progress, mostly in the series we are developing for The Autism Channel.  We have almost all the initial content available for the first 3 episodes, so it's now time to set up a meeting with the studio to get things moving along.

    Now, Coolmonkey and Soullfire shared a lot of direct questions that needed to be answered by John at Xanga.  I expressed to John that if we got those questions addressed/answered, then many in the community would be very grateful.    I also shared with him some of the other questions that we need to really take care of  as well.  In short, that we need to get back to a routine of making serious progress on the site.  John completely agreed....

    As of late last week, he shared with me that he's "Been getting a ton done lately"... and he's "trying to get an update for us that's more substantive, as requested."

    I did dump a lot more on him than just what Soullfire and Coolmonkey have been bringing up - but expressed that their issues with what has been going on needed to be answered.

    Rest assured that my goal as community liaison is to build a bridge of communication on both sides.   I'm a conduit of information from the team to the community... and from the community to the team.

    I've heard many positive things about what is going on.... and of course the worst of the worst.

    That being said, Xanga is still moving forward.

    I was also asked in previous posts/comments to provide some how to's on working with Xanga.   I am trying to get back into a routine, but will see if I can find some wordpress related videos and links to share to get people started.   Since we are, after all, powered by wordpress - much of how to manage Xanga will be very similar for the time being.

    For things that are Xanga specific, I'll see about doing some basic how to's to get folks started.   As things are apt to change, I wouldn't want to focus on too many how to posts as that might cause confusion down the road.

    So, in terms of immediate need on 'how to do something with Xanga 2.0'.... what would be your top two priorities?

    Until later... back to getting things into routine. :)

Comments (4)

  • Top 2 needs for me: an easy straight forward method to resubscribe and although I am more than willing to stay I'm seriously doubtful that I'm getting my money's worth.
    Second: we need a method to see when someone responds to a comment. Currently you have to go back to each post to see if your comment was replied to. This puts a big road-block in the community building so essential to what made xanga wonderful!

    • I cut/pasted yours and fwren's comment's and sent them directly to John. Responding to a comment and knowing is something we need to seriously address, and I completely agree. :)

  • I would like to be able to see when someone responds to a comment. And I would like an easier way to design my own page ~ either themes with personal options or something like that ~ I would like to be able to do a header with my own photos or personal touch.

    • I e-mailed John about your suggestion. They are already doing some series research on theme systems - running into security holes that could be a potential problem on many available systems... but progress is being made. I'm right there with you on personal options to change a header or having a personal touch. Along with the comments request.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment