September 21, 2019

  • Be Not Afraid

    There is this intrinsic part of us as a society that tells us not to fail.

    It's like that voice in our heads that says that if we fail, we lose out, we won't become of anything.

    This part of us, in fact, is a lie.

    The most we gain through failure is everything.

    This doesn't mean go out and do stupid stuff and get yourself hurt.

    What it does mean is that you need to count the cost and weigh your options before moving forward... knowing that failure may happen.

    And when it does happen... when that moment of failure does occur... what will your response be?

    Are we to stand aside and let the world ridicule us?  Are we to cower before those who haven't tried at all and chastise us for doing so?

    I submit that we learn best when we try and fail than if we don't try at all. The result being through the failure we are better for it.

    When someone says 'failure is not an option' - I think we misinterpret that phrase that failure is something to avoid altogether.

    Let us then look at that phrase with different eyes...

    'failure isn't an option, because there really is no such thing'

    As an inventor, Edison made 1,000 unsuccessful attempts at inventing the light bulb. When a reporter asked, "How did it feel to fail 1,000 times?" Edison replied, "I didn't fail 1,000 times. The light bulb was an invention with 1,000 steps."

    This is something to take heart when inventing something, building a business, or raising a family.

    Some people take fewer steps than others.

    So, what shall we be afraid of?  Nothing.

Comments (2)

  • Hi! I admit I was formerly on xanga as maboyden as a premium member several years ago, and just thought to try to look it up (and found your blog, with some relatively recent posts). Is there any way you could help me get my password reset to access my old account again? (I think my old email address that I was using back then/linked to this account, is gone?)

    Sorry for the random post, just wasn't sure where else to reach out to?

    • Hey Maboyden, I'm just a xanga user myself. Eugenia or someone on the Xanga team should be able to help you out. Email help@xanga.net with that old email address associated with your account. Sorry, I can't help any further then that. :(

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment