July 20, 2013

  • Jay's Legacy

     

    I want to pause in my usual rhetoric to share a true story of a young boy who's short time on this earth touched the lives of so many.

    His name is Jay, and he was the young son of a long time friend of mine: Kristen.

    Now for those who have followed my blogs for some time, I've known Kristen since the 3rd grade.  There are only a few friends I've known this long in my life, and she's one that I've known the longest.   She's also the one who also spent a few days on a fundraising campaign for my wife and I to purchase an iPad for our son. 

     

    Now, Kristen and her Husband had a tragic event happen in their lives in February of this year.   Their vibrant young boy fell and hit his head, which sadly resulted in his death.

    No words can describe the loss of a loved one, especially losing one's own child.    

     

    How can you comfort them?   How can you encourage them?

     

     

    But that's not the end of Jay's journey - or even theirs...

    His life and memory still has significance and meaning - not just for Kristen and her Husband, but for all of us.

     

    Kristen has decided to share her journey by blogging about it.   An extremely tough call to share this journey, but an incredibly inspiring one.

     

    The difficult decision for them to decide to donate Jay's organs has brought new hope to several families who are dealing with their own struggles.

    I've always believed that everyone has a purpose in their life, and Jay's was to bring joy and life into others - just like his Parents have in mine.

     

    Having a child brings about the ability to know what love really is.   Seeing a child see things for the first time reminds us how innocent and precious life truly is.

    A child teaches parents the value of patience, and the importance of sacrifice.

     

    Jay's legacy is that precious reminder that we must take hold of each day, and enjoy it.

    We have to hold onto what is dear to us, and do our best to remember Jay's legacy - a young boy who's life may have been short - but who's memory will live on.

     

    The story of losing a loved one has it's own list of challenges - and I will encourage anyone reading this to read Kristen's journey on her blog.

    It's raw, it's real and heartfelt.   And you'll find that she is brutally honest with what she shares.

     

    If you, or anyone you know, has lost a child  - I would ask that you feel free to connect with Kristen on her blog.

    I know that you will find a good friend - as that is how I've known her for all of my life.

     

    http://krissyclick.wordpress.com/

     

     

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment