August 5, 2013

  • A Transitional Post - My Thoughts

     

    We are in a state of Transition here on Xanga.

    Many are wondering when we will launch the upgrade, what is happening, etc...

     

    Well, here are my thoughts on the situation at hand:

     

    1. @thexangateam is hard at work getting things ready for the launch.   There are a lot of details being worked out still, but as per the last post from John - they are in the final stretch.
    2. DON'T shut down your account.   If you contributed to the fundraiser or not - remember that all accounts have been migrated to 2.0.   The only difference is if your entire content(Blog) has been moved.   IF you end up shutting your account down, all your friends and subscriptions will be lost.    There will not be a way anymore for an account to be retrieved to reactivate once it's been shut down.
    3. being that John mentioned that they negotiated with the hosting facility for an extension of 30 days - my expectation is that at this time we have until the end of August. Now they could ask for another extension, but we don't know if that will be approved or not.   So, it's a step by step process.   There's a bit of limited flexibility on this note.
    4. due to the following two facts  - don't expect archives to be available to anyone at this time:
      1. fundraising campaign over
      2. and site being migrated over to 2.0
    5. With this in mind - if you haven't archived your site after a little over 2 months of warnings - then it's a bit too late.  Personally I understand that there was some major PR and marketing issues on how Xanga Team handled this - I hope I was able to alleviate some of the communication issues, and as things move forward there are already discussions on how to improve communication for the site.
    6. We should be receiving an update from Xanga Team as to when the actual transition to 2.0 will happen.  Until then, I expect Xanga 1.0 to run "In Tandem" - meaning that this particular version of Xanga will continue running while 2.0 is in its final stages of being set up.   Blog and share to your hearts content. :)
    7. see my previous post about 'What should be doing during this time of transition' here - http://edlives.xanga.com/774945677/a-transition-period---what-can-we-do-during-this-time/
    8. Remember that dealing with a transition of this magnitude takes a serious amount of work.  Let's throw some positive vibes to the Xanga Team for working on this major upgrade.

     

    Try to take same time to relax.   After all, the construction workers are hard at work.   Personally, I'll have an ice tea and be in my Hammock.  

     

Comments (12)

  • Yikes!  No archives!?    I never was able to get my photos archived.  (Not for lack of trying.)  And although i expect to make it over to 2.0, i still wanted them archived "for peace of mind."  I guess i thought i'd be able to keep trying until we migrated over to 2.0.  

  • @Superbuds - My understanding was that it was shut down.  But, keep trying - dw may have proven me wrong.

  • Me again. I want to make a pledge for another Xanga member.. I cannot remember how to find the site. Can you help me again?frank

  • what a nice relaxing photo,too.

  • @HUMOR_ME_NOW - Since the fundraising time is over, the ability to make another pledge is not available.   However, I will inquire to see what can be done.

  • @edlives - Thanks, I want to buy a membership for someone for Xanga 2.0Thanks again.frank

  • @edlives - The man knows his mistakes.  [Link] Yes, Xanga Archive is still active.And he's got the right idea. Just sit back, relax, and watch the clouds roll by. It could be a VERY long time before Xanga² is even remotely operational.

  • Thank you so much. You have been a godsend in the land of 'where do we go for information on this?'  

  • @HUMOR_ME_NOW - Early Bird Registrations are open until August 31st.   You can contribute again for those you want to help bring into Xanga 2.0.  - https://xanga.crowdhoster.com/relaunch-xanga

  • How do I get my to work when I comment? You guys have links on your usernames when you comment and mine doesn't seem to work. Please help. :-(

  • You also have the @feature on too, how do you use that? Wow!

  • Nevermind. I looked at the wrong dates. I still need to learn to navigate this site. Sorry for the confusion.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment