August 11, 2013

  • Transitional Update - Early Bird Registration

    The fundraising campaign is over, but @john mentioned that due to the extension towards the end of the month with the hosting facility - there would be an opportunity for people to still be a part of Xanga 2.0.

    If you go to the Crowdhoster page - Early Bird Registration is available until the end of the month - https://xanga.crowdhoster.com/relaunch-xanga

    I've had several people ask me how to help others get on board Xanga 2.0 - and well, now you can!

    Just like the fundraising phase of Xanga Team's efforts, here's how it will work - except a small change:

     

    • you make a contribution in increments of $48 (per membership)
    • A Charge will be made immediately for this transaction (this is the small change from the fundraising campaign).
    • Xanga Team will send an e-mail on which account(s) you want the membership to be applied to. 

     

    This means you can still be a part of Xanga 2.0 if you want to.  Or you can 'donate' a membership to someone else.

    Another question I was asked was when Xanga 2.0 will launch.

    The goal the team has is to have it launched by end of August.   

     

    Ok - back to my hammock with my glass of ice tea.  :)

Comments (43)

  • When will the emails come for those of us who have already contributed? I haven't received one yet, and I've been watching closely so I don't miss it.

  • @CynaraJane - I'm expecting an e-mail as well.   But to be honest, I wouldn't expect the e-mail until it get's closer to the end of August.   We're all on the look out.I do know that they are working on some very complex issues with the upgrade right now.   At least this 1.0 platform is still alive while we wait.  :)

  • Thanks. I was just hoping it hadn't slipped by me unnoticed somehow. I'm not impatient. I know this is laborious work for the Xanga team.

  • @CynaraJane - I understand.  We're all in the same boat. :)

  • Have you noticed what a ghost town this site has become.  It's a little scary.  This probably could have been avoided with better more direct communication from the Team.  (Without you it would be much worse if that is possible.)  I still have no idea why I would want to belong to 2.0 - what features and advantages it would give me, especially now that the community has moved on.  I'm signed up but I've started to blog on WordPress. I'm just so confused about where Xanga is headed.

  • I'm confused...if we already contributed to the fund raiser, do we need to register again, or is that automatic? 

  • @RushmoreJ - We're just in the middle of a transition.  Good you're on wordpress right now - as you'll see the differences in how wordpress.com uses the wordpress engine, and how Xanga uses it.Now is just a good time to plan what you want to do with your blog.   I'm not one to rush into something new without a plan of action.   I'll be around here on Xanga.   I expect things to pick up when the team starts updating more regularly again. :) @leaflesstree - If you've already contributed, no need to do anything yet.  An e-mail will be sent.   This post is to let everyone know that registration is open - allowing more people the opportunity to have their blogs migrate over - either their own - or to gift to others.

  • So Joel, what happens if you don't take a membership in the 2.0? Bro. Doc

  • @edlives - ah, okay. Thanks for clarifying. :)

  • @BroDoc - all accounts are migrating to 2.0. Everyone will be able to subscribe and friend to each other. The only difference with a membership is the ability to blog.

  • Many thanks for keeping us updated, i was curious and cincerned, glad xanga team has an unofficial 'spokesman' to keep us posted.

  • @edlives - You mean IF I don't do a membership I will not be able to blog Joel? Is this what I am understanding? Bro. Doc

  • @BroDoc - In short, yes.  However, since you are a current premium member - credit could be applied to your account.  Check the FAQ's at the bottom of the fundraising page for details.

  • I've set up a WordPress account and using it as a mirror blog and to subscribe other WP bloggers.  I can't wait for 2.0 to show up.  It'll be good to see how we can rejuvenate Xanga 2.0.  It won't be easy but it'll be worthwhile.

  • Thanks for the update, Joel!

  • Thank you so much for the info!  Just to clarify... If I sign up for the $48 membership, I will only be charged $4 per month, correct?  The full $48 would not be taken now, only $4?  I have no problem with $4/mth, but the $48 this month would require some stress on my funds.   

  • Thanks! Just waiting for the emails to come so I can assign my contributions to my friends accounts...

  • @edlives - By the time this is all up and running my premium will be up. So either I will be forced to pay 48 dollars or I will not be able to blog on 2.0. This means Joel, you will lose lots of people. This means those that put into keeping Xanga here and can't afford to pay dues will be shut out. And those that can't afford dues period with be forced out. And this is going to hurt Xanga, where you will have less people than you have not. And there still are great free sites with no fees. So Xanga is going to hurts its self big time.Thanks for the information, Joel. Bro. Doc

  • Regarding email notification to users regarding their blogs to migrate over- you said:"I'm expecting an e-mail as well.   But to be honest, I wouldn't expect the e-mail until it get's closer to the end of August.   We're all on the look out."This is what John said verbatim regarding those email notifications:"We have also successfully imported the blogs of all of our current premium users... and are now working on importing the blog posts of people who have pledged to support our fundraiser.  (If you haven't gotten an email already asking about which accounts you'd like to migrate over, you should be getting one very shortly!)" - dated July 31John makes it sound like notification is already underway or is imminent. What you are saying now contradicts what John said. Is this yet another statement/timeline coming from Xanga Corp that becomes just words instead of action? This is more than just a communication "issue". You state that Xanga is in a "transition period" and expect things to pick up with more frequent updates from Xanga.This begs the question where do you think all folks that are no longer blogging during this time went, and why do you think they will be returning? Even making the great leap of faith that Xanga Corp will start making frequent updates, what's going to motivate those who have stopped blogging or moved on to return? Or put another way, where will these "new users" come from? Xanga Corp updates won't hold much value for those no longer around to see them...

  • I donated early in the campaign. I haven't received any emails or anything. I didn't use the same email address as the one I use for Xanga. Should I have gotten something? I'm waiting. 

  • @endlesssummer128 - from my understanding, it's $48 per year - which just equates to $4 per month.  So, it would be the full amount of $48.  Sorry, wish I had a better answer for you.@BroDoc - yes, we're all expecting Xanga 2.0 to be up and running by end of August.  Wish I could help further.@SoullFire - what I'm stating doesn't at all contradict what John said.   He said that they will send an e-mail soon - I'm stating that we're all still waiting for it - with the expectation of receiving that e-mail before the end of the month.  In regards to your other questions - very valid questions and concerns for which I don't have answers for.  However, I'll still be here as long as Xanga is around.@SeeBeeWrite - the e-mail will be sent to the e-mail address you gave when you contributed to the campaign.

  • Hi!I would like to know how do people who don't have credit cards are supposed to pay the $48 (A year-long blogging membership at $4/month, for a total of $48) and what is the  deadline for paying it, before Xanga delete the blogs.I've asked this question on Xanga Team blog in 4 August but had no reply so far.Thank you,IsabelP.S. I'm at Europe.

  • Im currently holding a premium membership. Do i need to pay for it to be able to blog?

  • @WhataWonderfulNewWorld - they aren't deleting blogs. Anyone who does not pay for a membership will be still be able to log in and comment, just not post. As for payment, I would suggest a visa gift card.

  • @WhataWonderfulNewWorld - I don't have a credit card, either.  I live in Asia.  How can I send money? 

  • how are gift accounts working? 

  • Since Xanga seems to be ongoing, what is the advantage of early bird registration?

  • @xxMissforbiddenfruitxx - Check the FAQ's at the bottom of the fundraiser page.  Your blog will be migrated over - but the status of ability to blog depends on how much credit will carry over to 2.0.

  • @iones_island - when people contributed to the fundraiser, many have decided to contribute extra to get rewards of multiple memberships to gift to friends.   An e-mail will be sent when it's time - and the person who contributed will allocate which accounts that credit will be awarded to.@ElaineWestheimer - Biggest advantage if you're not premium is to two-fold.  One - that your entire blog be migrated over to 2.0 (not just the account).   And two - that you have the ability to blog when 2.0 launches (not just be able to subscribe and comment)

  • I have a charge I don't recognize on my credit card. Who did xanga use to process the fundraising?And thanks again for all your help.

  • @soltero_alma - crowdtilt.  It's part of the crowdhoster site where the fundraising page was located.

  • @edlives - I asked my credit card issuer to do an inquiry, but instead they just rescinded the charge.     They re-instituted it again today.   

  • Hi!I would like to know how do people who don't have credit cards / visa etc. are supposed to pay the $48 (A year-long blogging membership at $4/month, for a total of $48) and what is the  deadline for paying it, before Xanga delete the blogs.I've asked this question on Xanga Team blog in 4 August and here to "Edlives" on 11 August but had no reply so far.Thank you,IsabelP.S. I'm at Europe.

  • @sillama1 - Hi! Nice to know you! I have no idea. It seems that we have to guess how to pay for this, since nobody want to reply us...

  • @SeeBeeWrite - Thank you for the nice reply, but I don't have credit card / visa / etc. I would like to have a reply from Xanga Team as I suppose I'm not the sole person on earth (or in Xanga land) with this "problem". And I'm amazed as time goes by for nobody reply as if nobody knows or care about it...Blogs are not going to be deleted? Where did you read it? Thanks.

  • @WhataWonderfulNewWorld - I just sent an email to this address, John@Xanga.com We'll see if there is any response.  I'm going out for lunch right now, and will check my email when I return.

  • @sillama1 - @WhataWonderfulNewWorld -   There are 'Visa Gift Cards' that you might be able to obtain at your local grocery store or pharmacy.   They are regularly available in the states.    They are used like regular Visa cards - but are more like pay as you go.   If you're still running into a challenge and are unable to locate some Visa Gift Cards, let me know.

  • @sillama1 - Great idea! Let me know if he replies to you =)Thank you.

  • @edlives - Thank you so much for your concern.In my country at Europe local grocery stores or pharmacies don't have nothing like it... I suppose I shall have to go to a bank and ask... Wouldn't it be nice if  someone on Xanga could think about people who don't live at USA and came up with an idea of a way for we pay?I've once purchase Xanga credits by mobile (it was a problem as the credits never show up until I start e-mailing Xanga Team ans someone very nice solve the problem...). If this worked it would be simple...Thanks =)

  • @WhataWonderfulNewWorld - I didn't realize that the option for a Visa gift card isn't available in Europe.   I'll see if I can inquire about this as well.

  • I'm relieved to see I'm not the only one still on the lookout for the elusive "soon" email. :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment