September 5, 2013

  • Some Reminders

    Ok, so you were able to sign in, now what?

     

    Well, here's some reminders:

    If you can't see your blog posts, answer these questions -

    a - were you ever a premium/lifetime member?

    b - contributed to the fundraising campaign? (or someone gifted you a membership)

    c - part of the early bird registration?

    If you answered "yes" to any of these, then you should see your blog posts.

     

    If you didn't do any of the above, guess what - your account was migrated, but your blog posts didn't migrate.

    Stay tuned, however, as if you've been active at all within the past five years - your blog was backed up - and you may be able to still obtain your archived data.  If you'd like to migrate to 2.0, you may need to wait until the dust settles on the move before they open that option up.  After all, we're all still moving in.

    We have to remember that we migrated to the new platform.   First be sure that all the expected content has migrated (if you qualified) - and then notify Xanga team what's going on so they can help.   (use the links, and read the posts on the main page)

    For those who are able to blog - test out some new posts, start a new page and menus - make some comments, and respond to comments.   Now's a good time to figure out how this new place works for you.    Please note that we are at the very first edition of Xanga 2.0 - so expect that after the dust settles the Xanga team will want to work with us to add new features.

    I'm still figuring out what Xanga team has done as well - so please feel free to leave some notations and discuss.

    Until later... I'm fried. :)

     

     

Comments (31)

  • I hear that! It seems to be working!!

  • I think I am slowly getting the hang of the posts. Now if only someone can explain to me in easy English how to post pictures and find emoticons, I will fly! See, I needed an emoticon right there!

  • Sleep well!

  • just get me up

  • Hope you can get some R & R. I'm still unsure where the main page is! hehe! I'm so lost.

    • The main page of Xanga is still Xanga.com. The Xanga Team's posts are the only posts being shown right now.

      We're all moving in and getting adjusted. :)

  • Right now, it's almost exactly like regular WordPress.

  • It's going to be a while before I feel comfortable with this -- I was pretty frustrated today, but eventually found the solutions, and will try a post with photos tomorrow! The last few posts from v.1 look a little weird -- did they not bring forward the photos as they did for earlier posts? Is there any info about pages and menus? -- I'm not sure what they do ~ ~ ~ Good to see you updating again, and I have to say I understand about being "fried" (besides the frustration, it's 100 degrees here for the second week in a row -- not something we're used to!

    • Hopefully with the end of summer, things will cool down for you a little as well. :)

      Since we're now utilizing the wordpress engine, there are many tutorials on how to use menus and pages already available. I'll see what I can do to help share how to work the site once I get settled as well.

  • I think I'll be waiting until I have full features, I don't think I can blog right now.

    • Were you premium? someone gift you a membership? Just curious if you were expecting to be able to blog.

  • It's a lot like WordPress and I like WordPress! so I am grateful for this new beginning here! :-)
    HUGS!!! :-)
    PS...Hope you are unfried after you get some sleep! ;-) :-D

  • Good to see many on the " other " side. I have to do some changes. As my template doesn't work well with WordPress. Yet, my files are all there.

    The only problem I truly have is my url isn't working for my personal url at patrickvossen.com. It hasn't carried over somehow.

    Taking it all for a test drive.

    • If you're still having a challenge with the personal URL - e-mail the Xanga team.

  • I'm having fun (and frustrations) learning this new system. I do miss the community of Xanga -- messaging, commenting on others' comments, and so forth. There's one issue that I'd like to discuss with you privately -- please could you let me know an email address that I might use. Thanks for all you do for us!

  • Ohhh that explains everything! So I have to be patient <3

    I wish I can see if people responded to my comments though! And I do miss the messaging as well <3

    <3 Daphne

  • I am glad to be here.

  • Still waiting for anything to happen with mine. I can't post or see my blog. And the xanga team's advice, which is to post in the data migration forum, is not good advice, since they obviously aren't monitoring it.

  • My Hawaiian pictures are missing in my opening Xanga blog. I will worry about it later.

  • What you are saying needs a bit correcting:

    In order to see your blog, you have to be

    1) CURRENT premium member. Past members were migrated over but not made to be viewable until they pay to blog.

    or

    2) Contribute $48 or more to the campaign. Contributing less than $48 won't give you any blogging rights.

    From Xanga:
    * If you’re currently premium, then your data has already been imported into Xanga 2.0 and is ready to go!

    * If you’re not premium but pledged to support our crowdfunding campaign, we’ve emailed you a questionnaire asking which username you’d like to import over.

    Only current premium or fully paid new memberships can see their blogs now. The others you mentioned are only migrated over and "available" to be imported if they pay the $48 fee.

  • Is it possible to stay at Xanga, pay to have old archives in Xanga2.0 as if we had been aware and planned ahead? I tried to upload the archives to WordPress and spent over an hour trying to do so, because I am devastated that I may have lost years and years worth of posts and pictures forever. For over an hour I have been trying unsuccessfully to import the archive download into wordpress. It keeps telling me that there is a missing or invalid number. Seriously, there are poems and posts and pictures which I literally had nowhere else, partly because we lost a computer hard drive that has photos I owned in no other form or place. Help. :(

    • If you pay to have the old archives moved to 2.0 - you might as well pay the $48 to blog on the site. Xanga team would then handle the migration/upgrade of your account. :)

      However, the team isn't going to 'hold our content hostage' and is working now to make it possible for people to still archive their blogs. Hang in there. :)

  • Hmm so if you want to use 2.0 Xanga you have to pay? I wonder how much people are going to leave Xanga now that you have to pay to blog?

    • The fact that we have to pay to blog on Xanga shouldn't be too much of a surprise by now - as it's been the topic of discussion for several months.

      I'm sure the team will most likely open up some form of free blogging downt he road, but we're just in a period of transition at this phase.

  • I can see my blogs, both of them. I can see others blogs on both of my blogs.
    But I can't post to either of them. The side banner does not have that function available on either of them, yet I contributed enough for one year on each one.
    Any idea what I do now? @laytex_duckie has tried writing John, but to no avail.
    Thanks.

    • John is rather swamped, and I'm sure his e-mail inbox is rather packed full of requests at this time. I'll send an e-mail to my contacts on the team to see if they can help you.

  • Photos showed up yesterday on my dashboard. That was nice. I don't have any luck uploading media and still no connection to my personal url ( not sure why that is still not being addressed as that was a paid for service ). Nevertheless, progress seems like its inching along. Just not as quick as I'd like. LOL.

    Patrick

  • Hopefully they solve some of these issues quick. I see most of my old friends blogs up but most of them haven't written since shortly after the ultimatum at the end of May. If xanga hopes to retain the little readership that's left, they need to find a way to up the readers and writers on the site, and forcing everyone to pay, despite that the funds are there, doesn't seem constructive at all.

    The more people you drive away the less reason any of us have to be here. Lately I'm checking back a little here and there but since everyone is gone or their sites have been dead for months I just think like "wtf do I even read here anymore for?" That's been xanga's main issue for a long time, and hopefully they address it soon.

    If I had to guess, I'd say they're trying to sabotage their own site or this was all last minute and not thought out very well.

    • yeah, they've been swamped as of late. So have I. But, things will slowly get back on track soon enough.

  • You are a guileless apologist for xanga's incompetence. You aren't even participating in answering the thousands of appeals for Help where exiled xangans are so hurting because this has become a cash-fuckup. thank you Pontius Pilate for washing your hands.

    • Real life has interrupted my regular responses. However, I have been in constant contact with numerous Xangans seeking help, and working with the Xanga Team on getting folks the help they need.
      I have not gone anywhere, except have been rather pulled away from what people usually see. Most of my responses as of late have been private and through e-mail.

      You and I may disagree on Xanga's level of compentence, but please don't mistake my lack of open answers for washing my hands of this transition. I'm still here for the long haul.

      I do thank you for your blunt honesty, as it serves as a reminder to me that I do need to provide some quality updates that will help folks.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment