September 5, 2013

  • The Xangan Who Didn't Make It

     

    With all of the excitement of 2.0 being relaunched, I received some sobering news yesterday.

    A few folks may already be aware, but one of our own died in a car accident on Labor Day.   Her name is Jamie Cooper.

    Many of us knew her as  @jmelove_x   here on Xanga.

    I didn't know her personally, except for a comment here and there on each others blogs.

    I do remember corresponding with her a few times during the fundraising campaign, and she was very excited to have been gifted a years worth of membership from a fellow Xangan.

    Of those little moments of correspondence, it is easy to be clued into how much energy and passion she had.

    It makes posts like this one even more difficult to publish.

    A Memorial fund was set up to help raise funds for her funeral - http://www.youcaring.com/memorial-fundraiser/for-jamie/85419

    (within 5 hours the goal of $1,000 has already been met)

    Please take a moment and honor Jamie, our fellow Xangan.

    Thank you.

Comments (31)

  • I am very sorry to hear of the loss of Jamie. Losing anyone from the Xanga family is felt by everyone therein.

    Peter Murray
    Blazing Blades @ http://kwantifiable.xanga.com/

  • I very sorry to hear this.

    I don't think I read any of the entries.

  • :-( I was so sorry, and shocked, to hear about Jamie's death yesterday. :-( I remember commenting on her posts. She will be missed.
    Thank you for sharing how we can help her family.
    HUGS

  • So sorry to hear that -- I didn't know her, but that photo is worth a thousand words!

  • So sad! :-(

  • So sorry to hear this.

  • I was very shocked to hear of her death. It felt like I had just read her last post the other day... She was a strong girl who had overcome so much in her short years. I will miss her.

  • this is not how I had hope to start on xanga or be the first comment. may she rest in peace

  • Joel that is so sad.

  • This is sad. I certainly do not know her personally, but my heart goes out to her family and friends. May she rest in peace.

  • My heart goes out to all those who she touched and through xanga, that reach was probably widened. May she rest in peace.

  • Very sad.

  • Where's the actual proof that she's dead? The fundraiser appears to be run by her ex-boyfriend. The two of them were well known as total drug junkies. How do you know this isn't a scam?

  • I wish I could rec this post... I may be writing another one similar to this so those on my subs list that are still here will know of her passing if they haven't heard of it on Facebook already.

  • I was fortunate enough to share a lot of great conversations with Jamie and learning about her death was shocking and sobering. I remember we used to share a lot of EDM and talk about gloving/hooping; our plan was to figure out how to give a dual show one day without her hitting me in the head with her hoops. We never ended up meeting in person, but she was one of the most pleasant, fun, and warm individuals I've ever met.

    I'll miss you, Jamie.

  • It's extremely touching to see how people have taken to action, really giving for Jamie and her family. To see so much love displayed so generously is a powerful testimony to who she was and who she surrounded herself with. This is beautiful.

  • It's always sad when a young life is lost.

  • I am so sorry to hear about Jamie. But I was also touched to see how quickly our community gave of their selves for her funeral. I'm sure she is smiling.

  • A dude on my job died on his way to work as he crossed the street this morning...and I wasn't surprised since MOST sheeple don't LOOK

  • Oh wow it is sad to loose someone so young and beautiful

  • I feel like I know this place:

    It looks familiar; like Dunn Meadow, listen, you can almost hear the babbling brook chuckling below her feet as water under the bridge at 7th street laps at the limestone shores of the Jordan River — her laughter ever after on the other side of the old low cement wall, outside the Memorial Union, behind the J-School, on Woodlawn Ave..... Gone but not forgotten.

    I'm sure she'd want us to remember her joy as she was playfully passing through life rather than as she was in passing from it.

  • I often feel for the stranger, its a dark moment when someone of kind and perky nature is taken by fate. No matter our fortune, even with God in our lives, we are all subject to the impending doom this world promises, we must remember those bright moments or we shall surely be trapped in the gloom forever.

  • That sucks. Sad to hear that.

    Wow! Some part of xanga is still alive. I've been looking around the few sites I used to read and they're either unreachable or no longer writing.

  • Bless her soul~

  • So sorry that she couldn't join us here...sad, indeed!

  • I just heard about Jamie's death last week from another former xangan. Does anyone know what the circumstances were? Just curious, she passed on my birthday.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment