May 7, 2017

  • A few updates to chime in with...

    It's been awhile since I've updated this blog, but that's ok - there's still plenty going on behind the scenes...

    First, let's address some of the items that are Xanga related so we can knock those out of the way...

    A.  I have never been an employee of Xanga.com, LLC.   I have, however, been paid by Xanga for my work on Autisable.  I was paid from whatever google adsense and blogads.com generated.  Let's just say I never made a lot, and what I did make was poured into helping to build and develop the site... and an odd meal or two for a date night with my better half.

    B. Mark and John at Xanga have given the Xanga Facebook page to us Xangans to manage.  Yep, it's not run by Xanga.com, LLC anymore.  It's managed by me, Dan and Maurice.   We do not have access to anyone's accounts on Xanga- so we cannot help you out regarding your xanga account.

    C.  Our standard response, if it's a Xanga account issue, is to email help@xanga.net and to include your username and the email address associated with the account.  IF you don't have access or don't know/remember your email address associated with the account - do what you can to provide information to help the Xanga team verify who you are.

    D.  There is a rumor going around regarding Eugenia no longer being employed by Xanga.   Let's address this rumor directly.  It's true.   However, Eugenia is still helping with that level of site and account management out of the kindness of her heart. Although she isn't employed by Xanga.com, LLC. She is still providing oversight for official Xanga team needs while John figures out what he's going to do.  She's still our point of contact to make sure accounts are updated/upgraded and any other account questions/concerns.

    For now there are no worries or concerns regarding any major issues regarding the overall website and/or management thereof.  I'll be talking again to Eugenia soon to make sure everyone's accounts are taken care of and as many issues are addressed as soon as possible.

    Ok... that's it for the moment for Xanga.

    Now...another side of things going on...  the world of autisable....

    Autisable has officially moved to a new server and is now SSL certified.  The server that it was on was provided by a fellow autism dad.  But, it had to move in order to grow.

    We have over 270 members on the site, and syndication is now officially back online.   This past week marks the point where Autisable is essentially back, functionality wise, where it was prior to Xanga shelving its proprietary platform.  Although there is a lot more work to do, people can now join, connect with each other socially and submit blog posts for the main page.

    I'm looking into another feature for the site to allow people to 'journal' for their own account - which would make it more Xanga-like.  But, it's finally at a stage where we can state that Autisable is back in full force.

    I'm sharing some notes regarding Autisable so that we could look into doing similar things for Xanga.

    Ok... until later, back tot he grind...

Comments (10)

  • Thanks for the update. It seems that Xanga is set up to fail. I've been a loyal blogger on xanga but with my subscription running out and no clear way to renew, I'm moving on... I will miss this place.

  • Thanks for the updates on both sites. I think I have a month left of Xanga, but it's my blogging home, and wouldn't mind keeping it because I feel safe and comfortable here. I will look into renewing process again, but as before, I am not keen on sending money online and prefer checks or money orders and I wasn't able to do that before. I had a friend accept my check and renew For me (I also don't have and never have used PayPal) However, said friend (Marcia) left Xanga and so I'm not sure how I'm going to do it this year.

    I wish you well with all your online, and family endeavors.

    • Thanks. I'm still around on Xanga, not going anywhere anytime soon. I'm a bit nostalgic for the community here and want to see it grow again. Understand regarding how you pay for renewal.

  • Joel -- thank you for all your help over the last few years. I do hope that Xanga can be maintained, although it's looking pretty sad right now. I appreciate your candor in the responses above, and have continued to rely on Eugenia for help until this go-round. I'm sorry to see her leave Xanga, and can only hope that John and Mark can keep it going. Thank you again for caring enough to relay messages!
    Janet (slmret)

    • Anytime. :) Eugenia is still helping, although officially not an employee - she's still a part of the Xanga team and is still helping where she can. Seems we're all waiting for certain things to happen, but life goes on while we wait. :)

  • Yes, I would like to keep it too. Thanks for the update. I looked to see and my account is good till July of 2031. I got a lifetime membership so I guess they figure that will be my lifetime. :P :D I plan to live longer than that. Haha.

  • I have sent my Xanga subscription through PayPal on 7 May. However, I have not received any reply as to my membership status. Please follow up and advise. Thank you.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment